LibGuides: Supply Chain Management: Library Resources

Getting started

Books & Theses

Search our Collections - Narrow results to books
WorldCat - Search libraries worldwide to order through interlibrary loan
MIT Theses Collection in DSpace
Dissertations and Theses - (other universities) - citations of theses back to 1861. Full text of most theses from 1997 - present.

Articles:

Business Source Complete - for articles from major business and management journals and magazines
Compendex - Covers engineering research journals. Also includes Inspec, for electronics, computing, robotics research
Factiva - international & U.S. news sources, trade publications
Global Newsstream - covers many national newspapers
Web of Science: a good place to find articles from multiple disciplines

Company research

Capital IQ: business relationships section includes list of major suppliers. Click on New User? to register for account.
D&B Hoovers - searchable directory of millions of public and private U.S. and international companies
Orbis - Contains information on public and private companies worldwide. It can be used to research individual companies, or to screen for companies meeting certain financial, geographic or operating criteria

Industry research

Fitch Connect - reports on 30+ industries in 100+ countries. Industry sector, economic, political and company research, including political and economic risk analysis.
IBISWorld Industry Reports - detailed industry reports for US, China
EMIS - reports & data on emerging markets in Asian, Latin American, African, Middle Eastern countries

Market Research

Forrester Research - trends, best practices, models, case studies on supply chain management topics. Log-in with your MIT email
Frost & Sullivan - reports on transportation, logistics, and supply chains
Gartner Group Reports - wide range of reports on supply chain planning, security, resilience, analytics, risk management, strategies and trends
Passport GMID - market research on consumer products covering trends, outlook, distribution channels and more.
Technavio Reports - covers market for supply chain analytics, software

BTS Freight Transportation data
Data and reports on transportation topics by geography and mode (aviation, highway, maritime and inland waterways, rail, pipelines and more.
CRB Commodity Yearbook
Provides commodity data including supply & demand, production & consumption, as well as pricing going back to 1939. Click "CRB" in the left margin for access.
Panjiva
Shipment data for millions of products worldwide at firm level. Fill out this form to request an account.
Shipping Statistics Yearbook
Data on supply and demand for shipping services; ship building; bulk, container and freight market; ports, seas and canals
U.S. Maritime Administration
Data and statistics on vessels, waterborne foreign trade by U.S. custom port, maritime reports and more.
UN Comtrade
Statistics on annual exports and imports of commodities by UN members.
UN Review of Maritime Transport
World Trade Organization Trade and Tariff Data
Links to WTO databases and trade agreements, tariff statistics, environmental info

Need help with reusing figures? Have questions about copyright? These links will help!

Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.

For more databases and resources, try these research guides: