Building codes are a specialized type of standard that outline the acceptable parameters for various types of construction. Different building codes are adopted by each jurisdiction, such as states and cities, often incorporating the International Building Code by reference. 

We also have a variety of interpretive materials for building codes. This search will give you handbooks by the International Code Council on interpreting various building codes, as well as green building. 

"Building Codes, Standards, and Regulations: Frequently Asked Questions" - an overview report from the Congressional Research Service that explains building codes

"Infrastructure Codes, Standards, and Regulations: Frequently Asked Questions" - an overview report from the Congressional Research Service that explains infrastructure codes

Some specific building codes that we have in the print collection are listed here. If you are a member of the MIT community and need updated versions or different codes for MIT related work, please use our standards request form or contact us for help. 

International codes in our print collection: 

• International building code (ICC). The 2021 IBC can be found online.
• International residential code for one and two family dwellings (ICC)
• International fire code (ICC)
• International mechanical code (ICC)
• International plumbing code (ICC)
• National Electrical Code (NFPA) [note this links to the NEC handbook, which contains the full text of NFPA 70 as well as commentary) 
• Administrative provisions for the National Electrical Code (ICC) 

Massachusetts specific: 

• the current Massachusetts residential code can be found online 
• For older editions in our print collection, see Building code for one- and two-family dwellings : based on the 2003 International residential code or search for building laws -- massachusetts to find various historical city codes (many current city codes are online). 

There are many other standards related to specialist subjects such as laboratory safety, air quality and building material properties. For help identifying these, use the search engines under "identifying standards." For help finding out if we have a current standard, use Ask-Us chat or email or check our spreadsheet of standard publishers with links to the catalog here. Standards we don't have can be requested. 

Request a Standard
(MIT only)

Identify standards you need using these free databases:

• IHS Standards Store
• TechStreet
• Some standards may also be indexed in bibliographic databases, such as Compendex.