Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business & Management Librarian
More ways to get help
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.
Venture capital & private equity
Private equity and venture capital database with in depth information and statistics on firms, funds, deals, investors, portfolio companies, and key executives. Use this link to create an account first. Return to the same link to log-in with your PitchBook credentials. Use MIT VPN (cisco AnyConnect) if registering for an account remotely.
Preqin offers comprehensive global research on investment industry. Our subscription includes Private Equity, Real Estate, Infrastructure, Natural Resources, and Hedge Funds modules which offer detailed information and analytics on firms, funds, deals, and portfolio companies. Log-in to MIT VPN for remote access.
VentureXpert via Thomson One
Select Screening & Analysis. Expand Private Equity and select Companies & Investors or one of the other options. Thomson ONE works with Internet Explorer only. If using Microsoft Edge, click on three dots (...) on top right, to access Internet Explorer. IE versions 10 or higher may require running the database in compatibility view.
Contains data on M&A activity, IPOs, joint ventures and private equity deals with links to detailed financial company information. Coverage past January 2003 is global, with earlier coverage focusing on Europe.
Key web sites: venture capital
Angel Market Analysis Report
These research reports by Center for Venture Research at University of New Hampshire provide insights into various aspects of angel market for entrepreneurs, private investors and policy makers.
International Private Equity Valuation Guidelines
Equity managers may be required to carry out periodic valuations of Investments as part of the reporting process to investors in the Funds they manage. The valuation guidelines are meant to investors in private equity funds make better economic decisions.
Money Tree Survey
This quarterly survey of equity investments by venture capitalists in private companies in US serves as a barometer of regional and national economic health demonstrated through entrepreneurial developments, and identifies promising industry segments.
National Venture Capital Association Statistics
Find reports and statistics on venture investments, fundraising, benchmarking, exits, and performance.
Overview of Venture Capital Industry
An overview from National Venture Capital Association on how the innovation funding cycle works.
Wharton Private Equity Review
Provides an overview of recent trends in private equity investment.
Key web sites: private equity
American Investment Council
Find a wealth of information including articles, white papers, case studies, and statistics on private equity investments.
Emerging Markets Private Equity Association (EMEA)
Find special reports, case studies, limited partner surveys, bulletins on legal and regulatory issues, and EMEA guidelines meant to serve as framework for constructive dialogue amongst all stakeholders – policymakers, regulators and investors.
Latin American Private Equity and Venture Capital Association
LVCA is a not-for-profit membership organization dedicated to supporting the growth of private equity and venture capital industry in Latin America. It is comprised of over 170 firms, from leading global investment firms active in the region to local fund managers from Mexico to Argentina. The web site provides relevant industry resources for Latin America private equity and venture capital fund managers and investors in areas including valuation, LP-GP relations and corporate governance.
Private Equity Research and News (Prequin)
Find latest trends in alternative assets, as well as benchmarking tools, useful presentation slide decks from recent conferences and much more.
Small Business Investor Alliance
Full-text of investment insight reports covering lower middle market. SBIA defines lower middle market as a subset of the US economy that represents small to medium sized businesses that earn between $10m and $100m in annual revenues; deals for businesses between $10m and $100m in total enterprise value; and private equity funds that raise up to $500m in capital.