Translations are a rich source of science and social science information, but they can also be hard to track down. Many translations were produced in the mid-twentieth century, partly in response to growing interest in scientific and technological developments outside the U.S.

Databases and full text online sources have improved the search process, but sometimes print indexes must be consulted, especially for work supported with U.S. government research contracts.

Some fields have developed discipline specific indexes for translations.  Here are a few suggestions.

Mathematics

• Translations of Mathematical Monographs Search in Barton, the MIT Libraries' catalog, by book title

Metals

• American Society for Metals. Translations Index 1981-1988

Metallurgy

• Catalog of Brutcher Translations
  Translations of articles, especially older ones, related to metals and metallurgy. MIT's collection is in the Library Storage Annex; use the Annex Request Form.

Meteorology

• American Meteorological Society Cumulative List of Translations
  Covers translations related to the geophysical sciences from 1952-1964 with an additional list for 1965.

Nuclear Science, Atomic Energy

• Translation title list and cross reference guide
  With its supplements, indexes Atomic Energy Commission translations prior to 1965.
  CITE I does NOT include these. However, many are listed in DOE's osti.gov database (tip: pull down menu ans use Advanced Search) Translation title list and cross reference guide (and its supplements) are full text in Hathi Trust.
• USAEC Translations List
  Picks up coverage of translations from 1963 through 1974. Later titles continue until 1979. These don't appear to be included in the CITE indexes listed on the More Places to Explore tab of this guide.
• Transatom Bulletin  

Published for EURATOM, European Atomic Energy Community, covers 1962-1977 and includes related fields such as chemistry, physics and materials science. These don't appear to be included in the CITE indexes.

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.