LibGuides: 2.009: Product Engineering Processes: Home

Useful Links

Encyclopedia of Associations
Discover interest groups and professional/trade associations related to your product or industry.
Consumer Product Safety Commission
The CPSC is charged with protecting the public from unreasonable risks of injury or death from thousands of types of consumer products under the agency's jurisdiction.
FedStats
Search for statistical series produced by the federal government. By topic, major subject area or agency.
US Census - Annual Survey of Manufactures
Of interest are the Value of Product Shipments and Statistics for Industry Groups and Industries.
World Development Indicators Online (WDI)
Statistical data on social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
Statista
Access to statistics from market researchers, trade associations, scientific publications, and government sources. Starting place for research on industries, markets, demography, countries & economies.
CDC FastStats
Good place to start for health statistics.

Find articles

Compendex/Inspec
Article citations in all engineering fields, plus physics, electronics, robotics, and related fields.
Web of Science
High impact journal articles in all fields. Includes citation tracking.

Handbooks, standards, and related materials

Selected resources that you may find useful. This is NOT a comprehensive list. For books on Markets/market share see the Market Research & Industry Overviews tab.

Marks' standard handbook for mechanical engineers
The Mechanical Engineer's "Bible" for over 90 years. Includes data, facts, figures, equations and standards.
Knovel
Engineering & scientific e-books. Includes interactive tables & graphs.
Machinery's Handbook (31st ed)
The most popular reference work in metalworking, design, engineering and manufacturing facilities, and technical schools and colleges throughout the world

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
Contains full text of all current ASTM standards, as well as full text of ASTM journals, symposia papers, research reports, and other technical engineering information.

Find Books

Manufacturer catalogs

Check these manufacturer listings to get a better sense for what products are already on the market. You can also contact companies directly for information. Also see the Designing & Making Stuff guide.

GlobalSpec: contains over 24,000 digitized catalogs that represent over 2.3 million products and over 183 million searchable product specs
Thomas Register: a comprehensive resource for finding information on suppliers of industrial products and services in North America