Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites Relevant to Russian and Soviet History
Women and Revolution: Women's Political Activism in Russia from 1905 to 1917
Curricular module includes background information and suggested resources. Sponsored by the Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian Studies at Harvard University.
Seventeen Moments in Soviet History
Site devoted to the history of the Soviet Union through an innovative use of texts, music, documents, and video
Communal Living in Russia
Site devoted to apartment living in the late Soviet period
Revelations from the Soviet Archives: Documents in English Translation
Collection of documents and photographs from the archives of the Soviet Union from an exhibit at the Library of Congress
The Alexander Palace Time Machine
Documents relating to the Romanov family, including diaries, letters, reports, memos
The Whisperers: Private Life in Stalin’s Russia
Based on letters, diaries, memoirs, and photographs collected by the historian Orlando Figes, this site explores private life in the Stalin period.
Stalinka: Digital Library of Staliniana
A digital library of texts and images about the Stalin phenomenon
Site devoted to the history of the gulag
The Chairman Smiles
Posters from the Soviet Union, Cuba, and the People’s Republic of China from the collection of the International Institute of Social History in Amsterdam
Soviet Poster Collection in the Peace Collection, McCabe Library
Posters devoted to maternity care, industrialization, collectivization, and antireligious campaigns from the 1920s and early 1930s.
A website devoted to music written under communism. It is a collection of songs about war, the military, patriotism, and leaders and also contains speeches and posters.
Kennan Institute-National Public Radio Russian History Audio Archive
On-line audio archive of speeches and voices of key political figures from the Soviet Union such as Lenin and Stalin.
Humanities and Digital Scholarship Librarian
Manage Your References
Any of the these tools listed below can help you organize and cite your references. The Overview at the top of the list explains the strengths and weaknesses for each.