Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Massaschusetts Institute of Technology logo Search Account

Cambridge Structural Database: Home

The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is a repository of small molecule crystal structures.The CSD System also comprises software for database access, structure visualisation and data analysis, and structural knowledge bases derived from the CSD.

Install CSD Client

CSD Desktop Applications -  Click the link to install  the client from IS&T site.

OR

1. Find CSD MIT-specific activation key on IS&T site. 

2. Go to CCDC/CSDS Download site to download the latest version of the software with your mit.edu email and the activation key from #1. 

3. Install the suite and use the MIT-specific activation key to activate the software.  

Introduction

The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is a highly curated repository of small molecule crystal structures.The CSD System also comprises software for database access, structure visualization and data analysis, and structural knowledge bases derived from the CSD.

Web CSD Web version (enough for most users)

The Cambridge Structural Database client version includes software for:

  • ConQuest - search and information retrieval
  • Mercury - structure visualization 
  • PreQuest - create an in-house database
  • IsoStar - Intermolecular Interactions
  • Mogul - Molecular geometry
  • SuperStar - Protein-Ligand Interactions predictions (Windows  and Linux versions)
  • DASH - Structure Solution from Powder Diffraction Data (Available only on Windows)
  • CSD CrossMiner - Interactive pharmacophore query tool
  • CSD Python API - Use the CSD System programmatically

NOTE: CSD does not store:

Contact the Chemistry Librarian with any questions.

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering Librarian