Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Tips for MLA:
- Click "Search"
- Type the name of the writer you're researching into a search box and change the drop-down menu to "SA Primary Subject Author."
- Type the name of the work you're researching into a search box and change the drop-down menu to "SK Primary Subject Work."
MLA International Bibliography
One of the primary sources of scholarly research in field of literature (also includes some references in film, theatre, linguistics, folklore, and cultural studies.
Scholarly Articles with Full-Text
Because the databases listed below can search the entire text of the articles they contain, you can be very specific in your searches and type multipe keywords if you wish. However, keep in mind they are not comprehensive - searching the databases listed above will probably turn up many more article citations. Both JSTOR and Project Muse also contain some e-books (although neither is comprehensive in any subject).
- Try the name of the author, the work, and your topic words in the search box, separated by the word "and"
- For example, shakespeare AND othello AND race AND discourse
Full-text, online access to scholarly journals in many fields, not just literature (although most recent years are usually excluded). Because it can search the entire text of the articles, you can be very specific in your searches and type multiple keywords if you wish.
Contains full-text of articles from Humanities and Social Sciences journals (usually only recent issues)
More ways to get help
If I'm not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of my colleagues:
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.