Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
July 2021: Update your settings for new MIT Libraries links
You will need to update your settings in Google Scholar in order to continue seeing custom links to MIT licensed content in Google Scholar - the old links were disabled at the end of August, 2021. See Configure Google Scholar for details.
Making Google Scholar work for you
Google Scholar searches for articles, books, and other scholarly content from many publishers, and attempts to provide links to the full text.
Some content in Scholar is only available via publisher subscription
What if there are no links to free versions or MIT subscriptions?
- Double-check to see if MIT owns it: Search Our Collections (we may own it in print, or perhaps the Google citation was incomplete)
- Request we get the item for you:
- Articles: Request the item via ILLliad.
- Books: Find the item in MIT's WorldCat where you will be able to place a request for it via Borrow Direct or ILB/ILLiad.
- Ask Us for help!
Not everything is indexed in Scholar
- Try searching a database that indexes scholarly publications in your field - find these on our subject guides.
- If you already know the name of a relevant scholarly publication database (such as ABI/Inform, Compendex, EconLit, ERIC, INSPEC, and Medline) you can find it by name in Search Our Collections: Databases.
- Use Advanced Scholar Search for author, publication and date range searching (link found in Scholar menu).
- Scholar provides forward citation searching, displaying other works that are cited by a specific result. To find works that cite the item you are interested in, use Web of Science (available from the MIT Libraries), which does citation searching in both directions.
Configure Google Scholar to link to MIT Libraries' licensed full text content.
How to select MIT as a library link option in Google Scholar settings:
- Go to Google Scholar while logged in to your Google account.
- Click the menu icon (which can be seen visually as a three-bar icon in the upper left of the screen) and choose "Settings", then "Library links"
- Search for "mit" and select the option labelled "Massachusetts Institute of Technology Library - Full text: MIT Libraries"
Now you're ready to search! On the results page, look for the MIT links labelled "Full text: MIT Libraries":