Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACM Digital Library
Sign up for a free account to search publications of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing. Use Borrow Direct or ILB services to request resources.
The back file for Art Abstracts (see above) covers 1929-1984 for 420 publications. Subject coverage includes art, architecture, landscape design, the decorative arts, and building trades.
Contains over a million images in architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design and more. Note: As of 2011, ARTstor users are required to register and log in before downloading images and 2017, access to this resource now requires Touchstone authentication regardless of the user’s location.
Grove Art Online / Dictionary of Art / Oxford Art Online
Scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. Available through Oxford Art Online. Also includes the full texts of The Dictionary of Art.
Searches back runs of scholarly journals; art & architecture, language & literature, history, economics, social sciences, mathematics, ecology and music. JSTOR now includes some current issues for selected titles. Ebooks from scholarly publishers are also available.
Oxford Bibliographies Online Art History
Annotated bibliographies and research guides written by scholars about topics in art history.
Use WorldCat to search for items not available at MIT Libraries. Add your zip code to find items closest to you.
Borrow from non-MIT libraries
Members of the MIT community are eligible to visit and borrow materials from many other academic libraries. Lending is generally limited to physical materials and does not include electronic resources.
Harvard University Libraries
Members of the MIT community are eligible to borrow from Harvard University Libraries. Privileges vary from library to library.
MIT is a member of the Borrow Direct partnership, a cooperative association of academic and research libraries.