The lawsuit alleges that the “Jewish and Israeli students at MIT have felt unsafe attending classes, have in some instances deferred graduation dates or exams, and some professors have left the university.” News from the The Times of Israel. Other related news on this event on other major news outlets can be searched individually (see the News resources tab).

"Two Jewish students have sued the MIT due to antisemitic discrimination they allegedly suffered at the hands of both the university itself as well as a tenured professor." News from the Jerusalem Post on the court case. News on this event on other major news outlets can be searched individually (see the News resources tab). To access the court case: https://www.courtlistener.com/docket/70629700/parties/sussman-v-massachusetts-institute-of-technology/

The federal appeals court did not find that Title VI, the federal law preventing racial discrimination on school grounds, requires “a university to quash protected speech.” Read the full case at this link: https://www.ca1.uscourts.gov/sites/ca1/files/opnfiles/24-1800P-01A.pdf

The Alliance represents "a group of 80+ and growing MIT faculty from various disciplines and schools across the Institute," who have published several statements, letters, documents in 2024 related to the war, campus protests, and MIT senior administration's response to it.
Email: hello-acf@mit.edu

This list of readings, prepared by the Association of Jewish Libraries (AJL), "aims to inform readers interested in learning about Israel, its history, and Israeli perspectives on the Israel-Hamas conflict. It includes both academic and literary titles and does not claim to be exhaustive. It is a working document, and we appreciate feedback." (from the introduction).

Israeli historian Lee Mordechai (Hebrew University of Jerusalem) documents the course of events since October 2023, that in his evaluation, amounts to a genocide committed by the current Israeli government.

The project conducts and publishes research about the ongoing consequences of the United States wars in Afghanistan, Iraq, and its military support for Israeli military operations; the costs of global U.S. military operations; and the domestic effects of U.S. military spending. Created in 2010 and housed at Brown University’s Watson Institute for International and Public Affairs, the Costs of War project builds on the work of over 60 scholars, experts, human rights advocates, and physicians from around the world.

Country of Words "is a digital-born project that retraces and remaps the global story of Palestinian literature in the twentieth century, starting from the Arab world and going through Europe, North America, and Latin America. Sitting at the intersection of literary history, periodical studies, and digital humanities, Country of Words creates a digitally networked and multilocational literary history—a literary atlas enhanced." (from the project website)

Dialogues Across Difference series includes recordings of conversations on Antisemitism, Islamophobia, Anti-Palestinian racism, the war in the Middle East among other ongoing campus initiatives or debates.

The DInah Project puts together the most comprehensive collection of significant resources available on conflict-related sexual violence committed by Hamas on October 7th. The project aims to remember the atrocities of October 7th, 2023 and hold the perpetrators accountable (from the project website).

The Bustani Middle East Seminar covers lectures given by prominent scholars, journalists, consultants, experts on contemporary politics, society and culture, and economic and technological development in the Middle East, including the Israel-Palestine conflict. The Bustani Seminar is organized under the auspices of the MIT Center for International Studies to provide "an opportunity for faculty and students to share perspectives and exchange views." (from: https://cis.mit.edu/events-seminars/emile-bustani-middle-east-seminar).

Prahlad Iyengar, a graduate student in EECS at MIT and Michel DeGraff, Linguistics professor, talk to Electronic Intifada's Nora Barrod-Friedman about their campus activism.

Forensic Architecture is a multidisciplinary research group based at the University of London that uses architectural techniques and technologies to investigate cases of state violence and violations of human rights around the world.

"We reached out to several dozen Palestinian and Palestinian-American authors, as well as a number of other writers whose work and advocacy has focused on Palestine, to ask them to recommend their favorite works of Palestinian literature. " (from the site)

FIRE is a non-profit, non-partisan civil liberties group founded in 1999 with the mission of protecting freedom of speech on college campuses in the United States.

"This report investigates the corporate machinery sustaining Israel’s settler-colonial project of displacement and replacement of the Palestinians in the occupied territory. While political leaders and governments shirk their obligations, far too many corporate entities have profited from Israel’s economy of illegal occupation, apartheid and now, genocide. The complicity exposed by this report is just the tip of the iceberg; ending it will not happen without holding the private sector accountable, including its executives. International law recognizes varying degrees of responsibility – each requiring scrutiny and accountability, particularly in this case, where a people’s self-determination and very existence are at stake. This is a necessary step to end the genocide and dismantle the global system that has allowed it." (from the introduction)

The link includes older reports published by the Special Rapporteur's office, organized by date.

Wikipedia's detailed documentation of the ongoing hostage crisis following the massacre of October 7, 2023 committed by Hamas and other Palestinian terrorist groups. 251 people from Israel to the Gaza Strip including children, women, and elderly people were taken hostage at that time. Almost half of the hostages are foreign nationals or have multiple citizenships, and some hostages were Negev Bedouins.

"The Global MIT At-Risk Fellows Program (GMAF) gives international scholars the opportunity to temporarily engage with the MIT community on campus, with the aim to foster innovation around the world through the fellows’ academic contributions and leadership."

News from the local paper the Boston Globe on the events following the 2025 Class President Megha Vemuri's speech. Direct subscription to Boston Globe is available: https://libguides.mit.edu/news/bostonglobe
News on this event on other major news outlets can be searched individually (see the News resources tab).

This webinar, co-hosted by MIT Libraries, features Dr. Feroze Sidhwa, a trauma and critical care surgeon in California who volunteered in Khan Younis, Gaza with the World Health Organization, and Dr. Yasmeen Abu Fraiha, with a specialty in internal medicine, a Palestinian Bedouin physician in Israel, who was a first responder treating incoming victims of Hamas’ attacks on October 7. Moderated by Dr. Eman Ansari, a pediatric pulmonologist and critical care medicine physician and a practicing pediatric emergency physician at Boston Children’s Hospital. Introduction by Prof. Erica C. James (DUSP/ Anthropology) of MIT.

This documentary tells the story of the war through the eyes of Palestinian journalists, human rights workers and ordinary residents of the Gaza Strip. (From the description on YouTube)

From the syllabus: "The object of this course is to provide a basic understanding of modern Israeli politics, culture, and identity through lectures, discussions and projects. Among the topics to be explored are: Israel’s political system and society; Jewish-ethnic relations in Israel; the Arab minorities in the Jewish state; Israeli technology; Israeli occupation and settlement projects; the struggle for Israel’s identity."

This short list of resources was compiled by the Schusterman Center for Israel Studies at Brandeis University, which leans heavily on Brandeis-affiliated scholars, shortly after the attacks of October 7. "Please note: To study Israel means to engage with a wide range of opinions on important topics. Resources here represent a variety of academic and political opinions. They do not necessarily reflect the views of the Schusterman Center for Israel Studies or Brandeis University. We encourage users to approach each resource critically."

The Jewish Virtual Library is an online encyclopedia covering topics about Israel–United States relations, Jewish history, Israel, the Holocaust, antisemitism and Judaism. (Wikipedia)

Co-founded by MIT faculty Or Hen and Ernest Fraenkel the program aims to "advance knowledge through the contributions of scholars and students without regard to national, religious or ethnic origin." It focuses on building a stronger MIT campus community and deepening ties with Israeli researchers. Kalaniyot has additional chapters at Dartmouth, Harvard Medical School, UPenn and Columbia University: https://kalaniyot.org/campus-chapters/

See especially the recordings of Prof. Barry Posen on "Israel's Response to October 7: What Was the Range of Choice?" (April 2024) and Prof. Posen on "The Grand Strategy of the Biden Administration: A Critique" (April 2023).

MIT CIS' Youtube channel has rich and current content on the conflict and the context in the Middle East and North Africa: https://cis.mit.edu/regions/mena

MESA has been tracking the 102 antisemitism investigations launched by the federal government into American universities, including MIT, and published them in November 2025.

Wikipedia's detailed description of the war and its evaluation of the media coverage involving the facts and misinformation.

MIT student activists Mila Halgren and Richard Solomon "expose the direct relationships between their university, the Israeli military, and American companies who service it. They discuss the remarkable work the MIT community is doing for Gaza under intense duress." Hosted by the Massachusetts Peace Action. MAPA lists the Gaza Israel Middle East Peace Campaign as one of the issues they focus on. Additional webinars on the issue and ways to connect are available on their website: https://masspeaceaction.org/our-issues/

A coalition of several MIT groups organized by the Scientists Against Genocide Everywhere Movement. The site contains a report on "the Institute's ongoing research and institutional ties to genocide", several petitions, news clippings, and the Coalition's demands of the MIT administration.

MIT graduate student Talia Khan (SB '20) in Mechanical Engineering addresses the US Congress and talks about her experiences of antisemitism on MIT campus and the reasons for her activism.

"The report combines quantitative-statistical analysis, forensic documentation, primary sources, and comparative military history to separate propaganda from verifiable fact." The report will be published by the Besa Center (https://besacenter.org/) at Bar-Ilan University. For context and an alternative view, MIT users could read Daniel Blatman's article in Ha'aretz published on 7/31/2025 entitled "The victim identity Israel built over generations now fuels its denial of genocide in Gaza" (https://global.factiva.com/redir/default.aspx?P=sa&an=HRETZ00020250801el7v0002v&drn=drn%3aarchive.newsarticle.HRETZ00020250801el7v0002v&cat=a&ep=ASE)

On the Nose is Jewish Currents magazine's podcast. The editorial staff discuss current politics, the Gaza War, Antisemitism, US politics, culture, and many other questions that animate today’s Jewish left in the US.

Outsider/Insider is an MIT Sloan podcast. It was developed to provide tools for members of the MIT community—as well as other communities that resemble MIT in that they are workplaces or schools and they aspire for their diversity to be a source of strength. Another goal is what the co-hosts—the MIT sociologists and management professors Ray Reagans and Ezra Zuckerman Sivan-- like to call “delight in discovery.” (from the podcast description).

This course surveyed (last taught Spring 2025) the history and various realities and challenges of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. The course analyzed the conflicting narratives and perceptions of both Palestinians and Israelis over key moments and issues in the conflict’s history.

Conversations with a female brewer (Madees Khoury of Taybeh Brewery) , a human rights activist (Noura Erakat), a musician (Anees Mokhiber), an economist (Sam Bahour) and a physician (Tarek Loubani) of Palestinian descent during the pandemic.

The recordings of this seminar from Fall 2024 are being processed and will be published: "Language and linguistics are powerful weapons for the making and un-making of hierarchies of power — as illustrated in [DeGraff's] work for the past couple of decades, demystifying “Creole Exceptionalism” dogmas, in #MITMindHandHeart mode to help build a #BetterWorld for Creole speakers and their kin. This takes us to the second aspect of the seminar — from “Creole Exceptionalism” to various sorts of “Palestine Exceptions.” (from the syllabus).

Edward Said taught English and comparative literature at Columbia University until his death in 2003. He was the author most famously of Orientalism. In this long form article published in the London Review of Books, he analyzes the history of trends in the narration of the course of political events and personal experiences from the perspective of Palestinians.

For a complete list of statements and communications from the MIT President's Office: https://president.mit.edu/writing-speeches

"Librarians and Archivists with Palestine has compiled a listed of readings and resources, spanning news sources to suggested fiction, non-fiction, children’s books, and more. Select a genre to begin exploring." (from the site)

"The Israeli-Palestinian conflict is complex. This site includes lectures, webinars, and panels addressing the current war as well as books, articles, and other materials that provide deeper historical context." (from the site).

Robert Ford is a retired American diplomat who served as the US Ambassador to Algeria (2006-2008) and Syria (2011-2014). His writings provide broader context to the events in the region.

On August 8 2024 the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation announced the launch of the "Siege of Gaza web archive", curated by librarians at the IPLC. On August 9, 2024 the archive was removed from public view; it is currently accessible on the Internet Archive. It's title is changed to "Gaza (2023- ) Web Archive." The archive "curates a collection of videos, photographs, art, music, petitions, statements, and related materials that demonstrate the destruction of lives and livelihoods."
A full description of the contents can now be found on WorldCat https://search.worldcat.org/title/1451540039

"As Jews, we reject Zionism and demand an end to the genocide, apartheid, and occupation that subjugates our Palestinian siblings. Jewish history teaches us the importance of a people's self-determination and we stand in solidarity with the Palestinian movement for liberation and we affirm Palestinians' right to resist " (from the site).

"It is time for a new voice to rise concerning the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. We are two Palestinian-Israeli Citizens, who are unapologetic about our views, and our vision for a better future for both Israelis and Palestinians. Join us as we record as the war is going on in Israel and Gaza, as we delve deep into the roots of the war, and the way forward." (from the podcast)

Prof. Krause first taught a series online mini courses entitled "Israel, Palestine, Gaza before and after October 7: Understanding Historical Context and Contrasting Narratives" in November-December 2023 in three parts. For more information about the three-part workshop series from 2023 see https://news.mit.edu/2023/mit-minicourse-gives-context-middle-east-crisis-1221

"We asked 22 Chronicle Review contributors: In light of the campus protests and police crackdowns that have swept campuses across the country, what is the one book you’d recommend colleges adopt as required reading for all incoming freshmen?" (from the article) This article includes their suggestions with explanatory notes.