Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Massaschusetts Institute of Technology logo Search Account

Social Life and Science History of Materials: MIT Original Sources

This guide page provides primary sources and other data and information resources related to material science research and social impact at MIT Libraries.

MIT Sources Online

MIT ArchivesSpace provides access to over 8,000 digital records including digitized MIT press releases, publications and reports. . 

MIT Reports to the President (T171.M195): 1871 to 2002 and 1994 to the present
The publication Reports to the President is a compilation of the annual reports of academic and administrative units of the Institute summarizing the year’s accomplishments and introducing future plans. Included in some years are reports from the secretary, treasurer, and chancellor of the Institute. Collectively, the volumes represent the starting point for any research into the history of the Institute.

MIT Course Catalogues (T171.M42): 1865 to 1997 and 1998 to the present
The MIT Course Catalogue, also referred to as the MIT Bulletin and the MIT Course Catalog, is a rich source of information on the courses and programs that have made the Massachusetts Institute of Technology the major institution it is today. 

Selected MT theses and dissertations in DSpace. To search all MIT theses, use Barton, MIT Libraries' catalog.

The Tech (T171.M45): 1881 to present
The MIT student newspaper. In addition to the people, activities and programs covered, the business and industry advertisements in each issue may be of interest. 

Technique (T171.M4257): 1885-1930
MIT's yearbook. In addition to the people, activities and programs covered, the business and industry advertisements in the back of each edition may be of interest. 

MIT Handbooks (T171.M42.S678, T171.M42.T4 and T171.M42h.H847): 1913-2008
The MIT Handbooks consist of books with general information about the MIT campus, local culture and social activities, and academics. The publications have various names and creators, The Handbook of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, The Social Beaver, This is MIT, MIT Today, How to Get Around MIT (
HowToGAMIT) but generally provide similar information on how to navigate life in and around MIT.

Interviews of the Margaret MacVicar Memorial AMITA Oral History Project seeks to preserve the rich and diverse experiences of MIT alumnae by documenting the lives of women who attended MIT. The collection (MC-0356) description is in ArchivesSpace.

Metallurgy and materials science and engineering at MIT, 1865-1988, ©1988 Massachusetts Institute of Technology, is digitized for your course use only and can be accessed via the Canvas course site.

 

Remote reference requests with tangible MIT Sources

While the Distinctive Collections reading room remains closed, we have started to process our queue of copy orders and have begun to schedule virtual reference consultations with materials from our collections. 

Requests from the MIT community will be prioritized. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Please visit the page on requesting materials for the latest information.

Note that the MIT Libraries' catalog, Barton, will list the shelf location as "Institute Archives - Noncirculating Collection 1, 2 or 3 " or "Institute Archives - Reference Collection". 

Use the online form, Ask Distinctive Collections, to ask questions about the collections, how to find items, how to request a remote reference consultation and other questions. 

MIT Libraries Resource Guides

Highlight of journals and databases licensed by MIT are available to members of the community using Touchstone authentication, or to anyone using public computers in the MIT Libraries' public locations.

Historic Newspapers 

History Subject Guide

Materials Science & Engineering (Guide for research data and information)

MIT People