Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Places to Start
Indexes hundreds of journals and books in Philosophy and related fields. Includes author-written abstracts. Updated quarterly. 1940 - present.
A comprehensive index and bibliography of books, journals, and journal articles in Philosophy. Also links to open access archives and personal pages for articles by academic philosophers.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Philosophy
Contains annotated bibliographies about topics in philosophy.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy
Online access to 26 Oxford Handbooks in Philosophy, a series of advanced encyclopedias about major topics in philosophy.
Oxford Scholarship Online: Philosophy Collection
Access to full text of Oxford University Press publications in Philosophy. 2006 - present. Allows 5 simultaneous users.
Cambridge University Press Philosophy E-Books
Access to all Cambridge University Press titles in philosophy. Note that this link goes to Cambridge Core, which searches all CUP content. Either search for specific titles or browse by subject to find e-book titles in philosophy.
Journal Articles and Dissertations
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Indexes high-impact science, social science, engineering, art & humanities research journals.
A comprehensive collection of ethics materials, including research materials, group discussions, current news articles, and upcoming events.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Indexes journals in the humanities and social sciences covering the period 1907-1984.
A collection of scholarly journals in many fields. Includes deep historical coverage but current years are excluded.
Indexes hundreds of journals and books in Philosophy and related fields. Includes author-written abstracts. Updated quarterly. 1940 - present
A comprehensive index and bibliography of books, journals, and journal articles in philosophy. Also links to open access archives and personal pages for articles by academic philosophers. Hosted by The Institute of Philosophy, School of Advanced Study, University of London.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (Full Text)
Indexing and abstracting of dissertations and theses 1861-present. Full text for most dissertations 1997-present and selective full-text for earlier dissertations. Comprehensive coverage of North American universities and selective coverage worldwide.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Over 450 entries integrate historical background, ethical theory, current issues, comparative cultural and religious perspectives, public policy, professional practice trends, and future implications. Encyclopedia of Bioethics, 3rd ed., 5v, 2004.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. 2 v., 2009.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
2nd ed., Macmillan Publishers, 2006. 10v.
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
Covers the professional ethics of science and technology and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics 4v, 2005.
Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, Theology, & Culture
Major facts, concepts, theories, and speculations about time. Explores the contributions of scientists, philosophers, theologians, and artists from ancient times to present. 3v, 2009.
Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Over 2000 articles about all areas of philosophy and the ideas of philosophers from antiquity to the present.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online [REP Online]
Allows 4 simultaneous user(s).
Requires MIT Touchstone authentication.
Thousands of original articles, covering Anglo-American, ethical, political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental, and contemporary philosophy
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An open-access encyclopedia that is responsive to new research in Philosophy, with each entry maintained by experts in the field. All entries and updates refereed before they are made public.
Comparative Media Studies, Literature, Philosophy, and Theater Arts Librarian
More ways to get help
If I'm not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of my colleagues:
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.
Off the Presses: New Books