Access through the Northeastern University Repository.

Over 7,000 records from the Chinese Progressive Association that document Asian American activism and community in Boston made possible by Northeastern University.

From the Northeastern University digital collection, more than 41,000 documents and images documenting two Latino organizations, La Alianza Hispana and Inquilinos Boricuas en Accion, from 1965- 2001.

part of the Roxbury Community College Special Collections Department.

Boston neighborhoods richly represented in the collection include the South End, Back Bay, North End, Roxbury, and Jamaica Plain. These prints and photographs also document the city's land reclamation as well as its cultural, architectural, and environmental growth. They provide a rich trove of visual materials for the study of the history of Boston at all levels of scholarship.

Among the sets are Old Boston Photographs, Boston Stereographs, McGreevey Collection (baseball), Trustees' McKim Construction, Boston Brewery Posters, postcards.

Over 4,000 archival resources from Boston-area archives that narrate the long history of school desegregation in Boston within this Northeastern University digital collection.

159 Boston properties, including private homes, commercial and municipal buildings, churches, and bridges, have been added to the collections in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress documenting architecture, engineering, and design accomplishments in the United States. Search also by neighborhood.

"Boston has the oldest city archive in the United States and has recently embarked on an ambitious program to digitize more photos, maps, and other pieces of visual ephemera. This site offers a number of thematic photo collections, including ones dedicated to public institutions, city landmarks, the Boston Redevelopment Authority, and public celebrations.

...the Peter H. Dreyer collection, which was gifted to the city by this well-known photographer. The 470 images in the collection document the city during the Bicentennial and in an era when the entire Hub was a bit less gentrified. The Bridge and Ferry photographs document the city's diverse set of engineering landmarks, along with images of the various machines and the men that crafted each of these unique structures.

Finally, the School Department area offers up historic shots of the Horace Mann School for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing and other notable institutions." Review in Scout Report [KMG]

Boston Globe. "Over the course of two years, Globe photographer Suzanne Kreiter captured hidden views, seldom-seen images, and unexpected sounds around Greater Boston." Includes audio.

More than 2,300 images of people, places and events documenting Roxbury Massachusetts, 1950-1975 from the Northeastern University digital collection.

In the Northeastern University digital collection, 40+ audio and video interviews of current and former residents of Lower Roxbury.

Neighborhood Voices is an oral history project of Dudley Street Neighborhood Initiative (DSNI) that engages young and middle-aged adults in capturing their African-American, Latino, Cape Verdean and White elder’s multi-lingual stories of the Dudley Street neighborhood of Roxbury and North Dorchester in the decades following World War II.

American Memory, Library of Congress. Four views taken from the Ames Building in 1894 and 124 other scenes.

[City proper]. 1885 [Back Bay and South End]. 1887 Roxbury, West Roxbury, and parts of Brighton and Brookline. 1888 [South Boston and parts of Dorchester]. 1888 [East Boston and Charlestown]. 1888 [Cambridge and parts of Somerville]. Digitized from original books; in color. No restrictions on access copy.

University Archives and Special Collections in the Healey Library holds a range of materials that help to document the history of housing, community development, and land use and planning activism in Boston.

In 1954 MIT Professor Kevin Lynch began studying city form in a five year project funded by The Rockefeller Foundation. The study was done under the direction of Lynch and Professor Gyorgy Kepes at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Center for Urban and Regional Studies. Their research findings were the foundation of Lynch's theories on city planning discussed in his seminal work The Image of the City.

The Perceptual Form of the City study addressed the legibility and imageability of the American city in terms of the individual's perception of the urban landscape. The study focused on the cities of Boston, Massachusetts, Los Angeles, California, and Jersey City, New Jersey.

The collection includes photographs and records from the Boston phase of the project. The nearly 2,000 black & white photographs, shot by Nishan Bichajian, assistant to Professor Kepes, document the Boston urban environment during the mid-1950s prior to urban renewal. The records document the planning, preparation, and progress of the project (1951-1956), and the research process and findings (1954-1959). These records include field notes, interview transcripts, collected data, correspondence regarding the progress of the project and hand drawn maps.

Web archive dedicated to the black lives matters movement. The collection reflects the movement building in reaction to police violence against people of color.

The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.

On May 12, 2009, the U. S. Congress authorized a national initiative by passing The Civil Rights History Project Act of 2009 (Public Law 111-19). The law directs the Library of Congress (LOC) and the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC) to conduct a survey of existing oral history collections with relevance to the Civil Rights movement to obtain justice, freedom and equality for African Americans and to record new interviews with people who participated in the struggle, over a five year period beginning in 2010.

Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use.

The Blackivists are a collective of trained black archivists who prioritize black cultural heritage preservation and memory work. They offer five quick tips in documenting social movements.

DocNow is a tool and a community developed around supporting the ethical collection, use, and preservation of social media content.

This is a tool for anonymizing photographs taken at protests.It will remove identifying metadata (Exif data) from photographs, and also allow you to selectively blur parts of the image to cover faces and other identifiable information.