Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Looking for industry codes?
There are many ways to consult the SIC and NAICS codes. Here are some options:
- Census Bureau's NAICS Page
You can search by keywords and look up the corresponding SIC and NAICS codes.
- NAICS Association
You can browse the codes by using a drill down menu or search by keywords, NAICS, and SIC Code. It also allows you to convert SIC to NAICS codes and vice versa.
Business & Management Librarian
More ways to get help
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.
FitchConnect (formerly BMI Research)
Provides in-depth reports on 24 industries and 200 global markets, emphasizing emerging markets. Includes extensive country risk and credit ratings, macroeconomic analysis and forecasts, and financial analysis of debt and equity. Also profiles over 500 multinational companies and their subsidiaries, and intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes.
Provides profiles for industries in United States as well as a wide range of industries in China and Canada. Reports include industry performance, outlook, major companies, supply chain, demand drivers, cost structure, barriers to entry, and key statistics. You can search by NAICS code or by keywords.
S&P Industry Surveys
S&P industry surveys are available through our Capital IQ subscription under Research tab. Now produced by CFRA, these surveys have sections on industry trends, how the industry operates, key industry ratios and statistics, how to analyze a company in that industry, comparative company analysis, and more.
Find statistics, reports, studies, and charts on a wide range of topics such as media, the environment, business and industry, sports, communication, politics, health care and more. Geographic coverage is worldwide, with particular emphasis on the United States, China, and European Union countries.
Focuses on medical device and medical equipment industries. Includes information on pipeline and marketed technologies, clinical trials, market projections, and comprehensive sector reports. To log in, click on IP Access.
Covers the entire spectrum of the pharmaceutical value system – from suppliers, manufacturers and distribution channel, all the way through to insights and trends. Includes data and information on marketed and pipeline drugs, clinical trials, analysis and forecasts on numerous disease markets. To log in, click on IP Access.
Includes company profiles, deals, product reviews, and reports related to power/electricity sectors worldwide, including: thermal, wind, solar, hydro, nuclear, smart grid, geothermal, bio, and ocean. To log in, click on IP Access
Oil and Gas eTrack
Data and reports on the oil & gas industry sectors worldwide. Contains numerous statistical databases; detailed information on companies, deals, and key events; plus in-depth industry research.
A comprehensive source for data on U.S. and Canadian power plants, energy companies, coal mines, and gas pipelines. Provides detail on financials, filings, supply and demand fundamentals, emissions, hourly market pricing, electricity rates, and more. Includes daily, weekly, and monthly newsletters covering various segments of the energy industry.
SNL Real Estate
Tracks thousands of real estate properties around the world. The Properties section within a company’s briefing book gives you detailed information on a company’s property portfolio, including property transactions, properties in its development pipeline, top tenants and top markets. Data is sourced from company press releases, web sites, annual reports and government filings.Note: An account with SNL is required to access this database.
WaterData [GWI WaterData]
A comprehensive source for global water market research. Covers market opportunities and impact of digital water technologies in specific sectors, regulatory environment, upcoming infrastructure projects, utility plant ownership and budgets , capex and opex data, forecasts, and detailed country and corporate profiles.
Financial Studies of the Small Business
Financial ratio analysis of firms with total capitalization of under 1 million categorized according to asset size, sales volume and the 25% most profitable.
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
Provides balance sheets, income statements and ratios for over 800 lines of business.
RMA Annual Statement Studies
This is a primary source for finding industry ratios and is published by Risk Management Association. RMA provides nineteen common ratios along with balance sheet and income statements for about 370 lines of businesses in manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, contracting, and service ndustries. Provides four years of historical data and breaks each industry down by company size in assets and sales. In the colored section at the back of the volume, there is a comprehensive bibliography of financial ratio sources. In the front of the volume, there is a section showing how the ratios are calculated.
Business & Industry -- Census Bureau
Quick links to last 3 Economic Censuses, national economic indicators, and national statistics for key sectors
Provides historical data on industrial output including production, capacity, and labour. Also, includes statistics on housing and construction, transportation, merchandise trade, retail trade and wholesale activity. To conduct a search, click on DataInsight-Web, a link under Data Access.
Industries at a Glance -- Bureau of Labor Statistics
BLS provides statistics and reports on labor related topics, such as business cost, salary and wages, employee benefits, and occupational outlook and projections. Includes Industry at a Glance that profiles 12 industry supersectors. Each profile contains a variety of facts about the industry supersector, and includes links to additional statistics. The 12 industry supersectors are Construction, Education and Health Services, Financial Activities, Government, Information, Leisure and Hospitality, Manufacturing, Natural Resources and Mining, Other Services, Professional and Business Services, Transportation and Utilities, and Wholesale and Retail Trade.
Passport Global Market Information Database (GMID)
Market research data from Euromonitor for 210 countries & 27 industries, including: advertising; agricultural production; automotives and transport; banking and finance; energy resources and output; health; IT and telecommunications; travel and tourism.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Statistics are presented by industry for the U.S. as a whole. Earlier editions
going back to 1879 are also available on the Census Bureau web site.