Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal Articles and Theses
Search our collections
Start by searching our collections. Results include databases, articles, books, and government documents.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to the study of cities and regions, such as urban affairs, community development, urban history and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. This database contains more than 120,000 records from key discipline reso1939 - present.
Free scholarly database. Link to MIT libraries for full text and Web of Science citations.
Other article databases and resources
Database of journals in business, trade, and industry. Not included in Barton Plus.
Agricultural and Environmental Science Database
Journal & conference articles, reports, books & government publications with comprehensive coverage of environmental & pollution issues.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration. 1934 - present.
Articles, conference papers, and reports in all fields of engineering. 1884 - present.
Full-text journal and conference articles published by IEEE and IET. IEEE books and standards are also included. 1988 - present for most publications
Search for MIT theses in Barton catalog
Oxford Handbooks Online
Offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in various disciplines,
Proquest Dissertations and Theses
Indexing and abstracting of non-MIT dissertations and theses 1861 - present. Full text for most dissertations 1997-present and selective full-text for earlier dissertations. Comprehensive coverage of North American universities and selective coverage worldwide.
SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
SSRN is an open-access online preprint community.
Industry sector, economic, political and company research on various countries. Includes political and economic risk analysis.
Comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news including criminal justice, the economy, education, the environment, health, international affairs, social trends and technology.
Full-text legal history collection of image-based documents. Includes more than 1,700 legal journals and over 3000 books. Also includes world constitutions, treaties, US Supreme Court reports, US Code, Statutes at Large, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Record, presidential papers, Foreign Relations of the United States, federal agency reports and records, and resources for researching legislative histories. 1700s - present.
The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's (OECD) online library of statistical databases, books and periodicals. Search for statistics or get the fulltext of any OECD publication.
Indexing and abstracts for U.S. Congressional publications 1789 - present. Includes the full text of reports, bills, public laws, and legislative histories; full text of Congressional hearings 1824 - 1979; and links to selected full text documents, committee prints, and Congressional hearings testimony 1980 - present. Also contains information on members of Congress, campaign financial data, Congressional voting records, and other information about the legislative process.
Data Axle (ReferenceUSA)
Search US businesses by industry, size, geography, and more
Create customized maps, detailed location reports, and rank locations using thousands of variables and business points. Data can be exported as images, shapefiles or in tabular formats. You must create an account to use this database.
Provides easy access to US demographic information. Thousands of interactive data maps and tables going back to 1790.
Portal providing access to statistics from market researchers, trade associations, scientific publications, and government sources. Starting place for research on industries, markets, demography, countries & economies.
Proquest Global Newsstream
Access to over 2500 US and international news sources.
Factiva has more than 30,000 sources from more than 200 countries in 28 languages.
Nexis Uni, formerly Lexis Nexis Academic, provides access to the full-text of many news, business, and legal resources, including the New York Times.
Current editions of hundreds U.S. and international newspapers from scores of countries in dozens of languages in full-color, full-page format. For use online or as an app. Current three months only.
Maps, Case Studies, and Reports
Urban Planning Librarians
Nick Albaugh, Tina Chan, Jennie Murack, Kai Alexis Smith, Jen Greenleaf
More ways to get help
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.
Suggest a purchase
Suggest a purchase
Let us know about materials needed to support online learning and remote work at MIT.