Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Related MIT Research Guides
Manage Your References
Any of the these tools listed below can help you organize and cite your references. The Overview at the top of the list explains the strengths and weaknesses for each.
Newspapers and Magazines
Access to over 2500 US and international news sources. Sources include newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
News and magazine articles and business information from over 8000 sources. Includes New York Times. Search by clicking "Search Builder" in top menu.
News, business, and legal resources. To search just newspapers and magazines, click "Search by subject or topic" above the search bar, and choose "All news."
Alternative Press Index
Indexes about 300 alternative, radical, and left publications covering political, economic, social and cultural issues. 1991 - present.
This mega-search finds academic journal articles, books, magazine articles, conference proceedings, dvds, government documents, and more. It contains our WGS article databases.
Google's mega search for academic articles. In settings, set your Library Links to MIT to get full text of articles we own.
Women in Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
The collection currently includes 123 document projects and archives with 5,100 documents and more than 170,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,700 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
Primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues affecting LGBTQ communities around the world, such as the gay rights movement, activism, and the HIV/AIDS crisis. Includes newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other primary sources from the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, GLBT Historical Society, New York Public Library, Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation, and elsewhere.
LGBT Studies in Video
Cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. 1924 - present.
Streaming service for documentaries in all subjects
Women and Gender Studies Librarian