Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Not sure where to begin your research? Try the Information Navigator
Tips on selecting a topic, finding information, citing sources, and other relevant help.
Not sure where to search? Try BartonPlus
Search for articles, books/e-books, other e-resources, & more.
Looking for facts and background information?
These links take you to online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources. They are useful for confirming quick facts or getting more background information on a topic.
Looking for scholarly articles?
The databases below provide access to articles from scholarly publications.
ProQuest Research Library
Covers many different subject areas and many different media, from scholarly journals to newspapers to magazines. Many articles are available in full text.
Women's Studies International
Indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal and magazine articles, dissertations, and reports from throughout the world, starting in about 1972. Allows one simultaneous user.
Looking for newspaper articles?
The databases listed below are great sources of newspaper articles. Note: Some resources only allow a set number of simultaneous users. If you can't get in, try your search again later.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides access to the full-text of many news, business, and legal resources, including the New York Times.
A full-text collection of newspapers, journals, and magazines published by ethnic and minority presses.
World News Connection
Contains full text and summaries of foreign newspaper and periodical articles and radio and television broadcasts in English translation.
New York Times Historical Archive
Searchable archive of the New York Times. Full facsimile pages with layout and images. 1851-2006
gmac [at] mit [dot] edu