Related Guides
- 2.009 Course page
- RefWorks (for organizing your citations and citing properly)
Useful Links
- American Red Cross See the publications for first aid help tips and an overview of the Disaster Relief Program.
- Center for Disease Control and Prevention Includes reports, data and other publications. See the section on Emergency Preparedness & Response.
- CIA - The World Factbook Statistics on different countries
- Climate and Weather statistics sources - Atmospheric Sciences library guide This is a section of the Atmospheric Sciences library guide that focuses on all kinds of weather/climate data, including tornados, hurricanes, or other severe weather.
- EIU Country Profiles and Country Reports Provides analysis of current trends in economic and political conditions for nearly 200 countries, including a two-year forecast.
- Emergency Response Guidebook From the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration of the Department of Transportation.
- Federal Emergency Management Agency - FEMA Links and other information about preparing for disasters
- NLM Disaster Information Management Research Center The DIMRC is tasked with the effective collection, organization, and dissemination of health information for natural, accidental, or deliberate disasters.
- NLM Disaster Preparedness and Response weblinks Links to a variety of resources covering a wide range of disasters.
- U.S. Chemical Safety Board The Chemical Safety Board is an independent federal agency charged with investigating industrial chemical accidents.
- U.S. Fire Administration A division of the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency, the mission of the USFA is to foster a solid foundation in prevention, preparedness, and response by providing national leadership to local fire and emergency services.
- USGS Natural Hazards Gateway Information on seven natural hazards — earthquakes, floods, hurricanes, landslides, tsunamis, volcanoes, and wildfires — and shows how USGS science helps mitigate disasters and build resilient communities.
- World Development Indicators Online (WDI) Statistical data on social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
- World Health Statistics Quantitative data and indicators of current trends in health and disease in 191 countries. From the World Health Organization.
Finding Information
See our video tutorials for help using the MIT Libraries and all of its resources.
Find journal articles
Search a bibliographic database:
- Compendex: general engineering and Inspec: electronics, computing, control, robotics, physics
- Introduction to Compendex and Inspec (video tutorial - 3:04)
- GeoRef: for technical articles on geology, hazards and earth sciences in general
- Avery Index: architecture and design
- PsycINFO: psychology
- PubMed: medicine and biology
- Risk Abstracts: assessment and management of risk across many disciplines
- Web of Science: general science, some engineering
News sources
- Greenwire: Provides daily coverage of environmental and energy news with a focus on politics and policy.
Find books
Search the MIT Libraries catalog: Barton
Tip: Finding a proper subject heading can be a useful way to find information. Try a subject search to find books on a topic. The following list offers several examples of subjects used in our catalog.
- Crisis management
- Disaster relief
- Disasters
- Earthquake resistant design
- Emergency management
- Epidemics
- Fire Prevention
- Flood control
- Hazard mitigation
- Natural disaster warning systems
- Survival skills
Books, Handbooks, Reports for your project
Selected resources that you may find useful. This is NOT a comprehensive list.
- Appropriate Technology Library: A full-text collection of over one thousand publications covering projects and technical information
- AT Sourcebook: index to publications
- Publications are on CD-ROMS in the Barker Library stacks: T49.5.A86 2002
- ASM Failure Analysis Center: 1000 case histories along with authoritative handbook information on failure mechanisms and analysis methods
- Books 24x7: Full-text e-books in engineering, including topics like home networking, ASHRAE handbooks,
- Human dimension & interior space: Data on human dimensions that can be used for architectural and interior design (ergonomics); Found at Rotch Library Reference Collection: NA2542.4.P356 1979
- Knovel: Engineering and Scientific Handbooks
- A full text collection of hundreds of handbooks and reference sources
- 2004 Emergency Response Guidebook
- A Guide to the Safe Handling of Hazardous Materials Accidents (2nd Edition)
- Handbook of Emergency Response to Toxic Chemical Releases - A Guide to Compliance
- HazMat Data - For First Response, Transportation, Storage, and Security (2nd Edition)
- National fire alarm code handbook. Found in Rotch Library Reference Collection: TH9271.N24
- National Transportation Safety Board reports
Manufacturer catalogs
Check these manufacturer listings to get a better sense for what products are already on the market. You can also contact companies directly for information.
- GlobalSpec: contains over 24,000 digitized catalogs that represent over 2.3 million products and over 183 million searchable product spec
- Medical Device Register: available in print in the Science Library reference collection
- Thomas Register: a comprehensive resource for finding information on suppliers of industrial products and services in North America
- Also availalble in print in Barker Library: Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
Ask Us! |
Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering Librarian
![]() |
Contact Info:
Barker Engineering Library (10-500)
Science Library (14S-100)
Phone: 617-253-9320
Send Email
Subjects:
Materials Science and Engineering, Mechanical Engineering
Alex Caracuzzo |
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait