Skip to main content

MIT Libraries

Search Account

Finding Images: Digital Image Services and Visual Collections

Guide to finding images in MIT visual collections and online through large repositories of images appropriate for academic audiences

Digital Image Services and Visual Collections

The Digital Image Services and Visual Collections unit of the MIT Libraries supports interdisciplinary image use in teaching, learning, and research by providing the following services and resources and to faculty and students:

Services:

  • Image resources in Dome (MIT Libraries’ repository of high quality images available to the MIT community to download for teaching and research), including new image purchases and licensing agreements and digitizing images from analog legacy sources
  • Image research and reference
  • Assistance using images legally and responsibly
  • Individual and group instruction on visual literacy and on search, retrieval, and evaluation of images in all formats
  • Assistance with image presentation tools and technologies
  • Guidance for citing images in papers, presentations, and websites
  • Support to faculty and students requesting the acquisition or reformatting of images, in keeping with collection policies

Contact us: Rotch Library, 7-238.  By appointment only.   rvc-all@mit.edu

Resources

The Visual Collections of the MIT Libraries is a growing resource of images acquired for teaching, research and scholarship in analog and digital formats.  The collections focus on a wide range of subject areas and topics, including art, architecture, urban studies, regional and city planning, Boston urban history, anthropology, archaeology, documentary photography and media studies.

Highlights of the collection

Charles J. Connick Stained Glass Foundation Collection
digitzed job files from the Connick Studio (1912-1987) and a collection of digital images of stained glass and works on paper, including designs, sketches, and cartoons for stained glass

Perceptual Form of the City Project
digitized images and text related to a seminal research project conducted by MIT Professors Kevin Lynch and Gygory Kepes, 1954-1959

Kidder Smith Collection of American Architecture
3,400 color images surveying American architecture from pre-colonial to the 1970's

Aga Khan Visual Archive
100,000 slides and digital images of architecture, urbanism and the built environment in the Islamic world