Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Finding Information 

Tips on how to find scholarly information for your research.
Last update: Aug 27th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/content.php?pid=36844  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find web pages            Print Page
  
 

What to look for

Find quality web sites on the free web by using your favorite search engine (e.g. Google)

  • Use advanced search features to make your search more effective.
  • Use more than one search engine to find a wider variety of information, as search engines index different web sites.
  • Monitor search engine pros and cons by checking sites like Search Engine Watch.
  • Evaluate information you find on the free web!  It's easy to find almost anything online, but read it with a critical eye.
 

The free web vs. the fee web

The "free" web is the part of the web that you browse or surf all the time via commercial search engines like Google or Yahoo. Most of the information found there is free and accessible to anyone with a web connection and web browser.

The "fee-based" web is hidden or invisible from commercial search engines for various reasons. Usually information in the hidden web is accessible only to those who register, pay or license the information. But that means the information is of high quality and more valuable than what you typically find on the free web. Examples of the fee-based web are included in Vera (library databases for journal articles).

 
 

Library databases vs. Google video


Loading Video Clip...

Finding quality web sites

Good sources of free web sites include those found in expert subject directories, where web sites are selected by people who know the subject. These can help you target a specific category of information quickly and accurately without having to wade through many irrelevant sites.

Expert Subject Directories

  • Librarians' Internet Index  
    A searchable directory of annotated web sites by category - "a well-organized point of access for reliable, trustworthy, librarian-selected Internet resources."
  • INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections  
    A virtual library, a "unique Web resource featuring well organized access to important university level research and educational tools on the Internet".
  • Intute: Best of the Web  
    A searchable database of quality web resources, which are "evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists to create the Intute database."
  • WWW Virtual Library  
    Volunteers "compile pages of key links for particular areas in which they are expert."
  • MIT Libraries Research Guides  
    Created by subject specialists, these can help you identify web sites, book, and other resources on your topic.
  • MIT Libraries Virtual Reference Collection  
    Find links to dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference materials on the web (includes links to MIT-only resources).
 
 

Need Help?

Ask Us! if you have questions

Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help

Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.

 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

  Loading content... please wait