Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding articles on your topic is a 3-step process. If you are looking for a specific article, see step 3.
1. Identify a database.
- Article databases index thousands of journals within a certain subject area by the author, title and subject of each article.
- To find the right database, browse Vera's 'Databases by Subject' category to see librarians' recommendations in our Research Guides. See Connect from on and off-campus for help.
- Or use Vera's multi-search (in Find articles on your topic) to query several databases at once in broad subject categories (use Interdisciplinary if you're not sure which subject area to choose):
2. Search the database. See Database Search Tips
- Use important keywords or subject words that describe your topic.
- Scan your results to identify citations that seem relevant or interesting.
3. Get the full text of the article.
- In some databases you can link to the full text directly or via SFX.
- If the database you're searching has an SFX button or "Get this - MIT" link, click it. Other options for getting to the full text of an article include:
- Use the SFX Full Text Finder. This software lets you enter a citation to see if MIT has online access to that article.
- Search Barton: the MIT Libraries catalog to see if MIT owns the journal either in print or online.
- Vera lists journals that are available online, but not those in print format. Search Vera by keyword for the journal title you need.
- Be aware: some online/electronic resources are only available in Vera, and some are only in Barton, so search both to be comprehensive.