Guide to finding images in MIT visual collections and online through large repositories of images appropriate for academic audiences
Get tips for finding and using images for research and scholarship. Image sources on this site are grouped by subject and type: advertising and photography; art, architecture, and city planning; history, maps, and anthropology; science and medicine.
Licensed and local image databases available from the MIT Libraries
Archnet is a globally-accessible, intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world. Archnet’s mission is to provide ready access to unique visual and textual material to facilitate teaching, scholarship, and professional work of high quality.
- Dome at MIT
MIT Libraries digital collections can be found in Dome. There are over 70,000 images, maps, and documents. MIT certificates are required for some collections.
MIT Visual Collections * Institute Archives and Special Collections
David Taylor Model Basin * Project Whirlwind
MIT Communications Forum * Perceptual Form of the City
Aga Khan Visual Archive * Charles J. Connick Stained Glass Foundation Collection
- ARTstor MIT only
A subscription based digital library of over one million historical and contemporary images related to art, architecture, world events, the humanities and social sciences. Open to anyone on campus. For off campus access to MIT faculty and students, an account is required. See ARTstor Terms and Conditions of Use.
- Credo Reference MIT only
Search for images in encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, and other reference resources
Images available through public websites; note restrictions on reuse.
- Arounder Virtual Tours of Cities
360-degree panoramic views of cities and monuments around the world
- Biology Image Library
Online collection of images, movies, illustrations and animations across the fields of biology and biomedicine.
- Cartography Associates Visual Collections
Over 300,000 images of maps, fine arts, architecture and photography from renowned private and public collections
A single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.
- Flickr Commons
Cultural heritage institutions share photographs from their collections
- Library of Congress American Memory
More than 7 million sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience drawn from more than 100 collections
- Mass Department of Environmental Protection Image Collections
Images of the Mass EPA sites, facilities, and federal stimulus funded projects
- New York Public Library Gallery
650,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities--illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, fashion plates, and other printed ephemera