Chemistry guide

Need to draw chemical structures? Or biological pathways?

Install ChemBioDraw!

Mendeley@MIT

Video: ​Using Mendeley at MIT (13:21)

Zotero@MIT

Video: Using Zotero at MIT (10:30)

Use these to find articles, conference papers, and other literature on your topic!

Web of Science (1900 -present)

Index to high-impact science, social science, engineering, arts and humanities research journals. Includes cited reference searching.

SciFinder (1907-present, must register before using the first time)

• Comprehensive chemical information database. Covers scientific journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical papers.
• Register first at http://libraries.mit.edu/cas-reg
• Bookmark this URL to access the database: https://libguides.mit.edu/scifinder
• View SciFinder Tutorials to learn more about how to use SciFinder

PubMed (1966 - present)

Definitive NCBI database for research in medicine and biosciences. Includes MEDLINE, other full-text resources, links to NCBI sequencing databases. 

Reaxys 

Comprehensive information of organic, inorganic, and organometallic compounds, their syntheses and properties

Handbooks and encyclopedias are a great way to learn about a new topic.  Don't forget to check the references at the end of the chapter/section for more detailed information.

You can always find individual books in Barton - both electronic and print!

Selected chemistry handbooks & encyclopedias

• Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry (print)
• Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
• Encyclopedia of Inorganic & Bioinorganic Chemistry
• Encyclopedia of Magnetic Resonance 
• Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry 
• Encyclopedia of Supramolecular Chemistry (print)
• Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (CRC) - Classic!
• Inorganic Syntheses
• Organic Syntheses