Vera Multi-Search
MIT Libraries catalog
History Databases
Places to Start
- America: History and Life - info
- Historical Abstracts - info
- Oxford Reference Online: History - info
Secondary Sources (Articles, Books, and Dissertations)
- Africa Bibliography
- America: History and Life - info
- Bibliography of Asian Studies - info
- Proquest Dissertations and Theses (Full Text) - info
- Historical Abstracts - info
- History of Science, Technology, & Medicine - info
- Humanities Abstracts - info
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective - info
- Index Islamicus - info
- JSTOR - info
- Project Muse - info
- Web of Science [ISI Web of Knowledge] - info - video
- WorldCat - info
Biography
- American National Biography - info
- Biography in Context - info
- Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography - info
- Oxford African American Studies Center - info
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online [DNB] - info
Book Reviews
- America: History and Life - info
- Historical Abstracts - info
- History of Science, Technology, & Medicine - info
- MIT Libraries Book Review Guide
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Timelines
- Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
- Asian American History and Culture
- Cambridge World History of Food - info
- Culture Wars: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History - info
- Encyclopedia of American Immigration - info
- Encyclopedia of European Social History - info
- Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity - info
- Encyclopedia of India - info
- Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America - info
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture - info
- Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States - info
- Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars: The United States in the Persian Gulf, Afghanistan, and Iraq Conflicts
- Encyclopedia of Modern Asia - info
- Encyclopedia of Modern China - info
- Encyclopedia of Race and Racism - info
- Encyclopedia of Religion in America
- Encyclopedia of Russian History - info
- Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict - info
- Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History
- Encyclopedia of the Great Depression - info
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa - info
- Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 - info
- Gale Encyclopedia of the Unusual and Unexplained - info
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide
- Hutchinson Chronology of World History, Vol. 4 (1901-2007) - info
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences - info
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas - info
- Oxford African American Studies Center - info
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History - info
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America - info
- Social History of the United States
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture - info
Film
Primary Sources
- Aluka: African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes - info
- Aluka: Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa - info
- American Decades Primary Sources
- American Song - info
- ARTstor - info
- Atlanta Constitution Historical Archive - info
- Boston Globe Historical Archive - info
- CESAR database - info
- Chicago Tribune Historical Archive - info
- Competing Voices from the Russian Revolution
- Database of Recorded American Music - info
- Digital National Security Archive - info
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) - info
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) - info
- Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict - info
- Hein Online - info
- Historic Documents - info
- Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) [Millennial Edition] - info
- Illustrated London News - info
- In the First Person - info
- Proquest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional) - info
- Los Angeles Times Historical Archive - info
- The Nation Archive - info
- National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) - info
- New York Times Historical Archive - info
- NewspaperArchive Pro - info
- People's Daily - info
- Polling the Nations - info
- Policing the Shanghai International Settlement - info
- Readers Guide Retrospective - info
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research - info
- Sanborn Maps of Massachusetts - info
- Siku Quanshu (CD-ROM, Hayden access only) - info
- Social Explorer - info
- Social Policy: Essential Primary Sources
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive - info
- Wall Street Journal Historical Archive - info
- Washington Post Historical Archive - info
- Women and Social Movements in the United States
- Women and Social Movements International - info
History Databases from Outside MIT
- History Databases from the Boston Public Library (BPL)
Anyone who lives, works, or studies in Massachusetts is eligible for a BPL card or e-card to access electronic resources, including the Archive of Americana collection of early American primary sources.
- History Databases at Harvard Libraries
MIT faculty, students, and researchers with a Special Borrower Card can visit the Harvard Libraries and use electronic resources on-site. Harvard has over 200 online resources in history, including dozens of primary source databases.
- Digital Primary Sources in Boston-Area Libraries
With a Boston Library Consortium (BLC) card, MIT affiliates can visit other BLC libraries and use their digital resources on-site.
Subject Specialist |
Links: Profile & Guides More Info:: Office Hours [through 5/16]: Wed. 10:30-noon (Dewey); Th. 3:00-4:30 (Hayden) or by appointment --- no office hours Wed., 4/24 |
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.


Loading...
