Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Looking for a book?
- Start your search with MIT Libraries' catalogs: BartonPlus (books + materials + articles) or Classic Barton (books + materials, no articles).
- Book not at MIT? Search MIT's WorldCat and request books via Borrow Direct (participating libraries include Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Princeton, UPenn, Yale; 2-5 business days) or via the Interlibrary Borrowing Service (7+ business days) if Borrow Direct can't supply the book.
- Still can't find the book you need? Request it via the Interlibrary Borrowing Service (7+ business days).
Think we should have a book or other materials in the MIT collection? Please suggest a purchase.
Journal Articles and Theses
Start with BartonPlus, MIT libraries' mega search. Barton Plus contains Political Science Complete, Econlit, Business Source Complete, Heinonline, JSTOR, and many other databases, subscriptions, and government documents.
Google's mega search for academic articles. In settings, set your Library Links to MIT to get full text of articles we own.
WGS-specific article databases
These databases are in BartonPlus, but use individually for a more targeted search
Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship with emphasis on sexual diversity issues. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, and theses & dissertations.
Content related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender studies in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Contains a specialized thesaurus and also provides full text from a number of the most important and historically significant LGBT sources including dozens of full-text monographs.
Women's Studies International
Includes over 232,000 records from a variety of essential women's studies databases, including Women Studies Abstracts. Allows 1 simultaneous user(s)
Article databases and resources
America: History and Life
US & Canadian history, prehistory-present. Indexes articles, book reviews, essay collections, dissertations, media.
MIT authored papers and theses
Resource covering world history (excluding US and Canada), 1450 to present. Indexes and abstracts articles, books, essay collections, dissertations, and media.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses
Indexing and abstracting of non-MIT dissertations and theses 1861 - present. Full text for most dissertations 1997-present and selective full-text for earlier dissertations. Comprehensive coverage of North American universities and selective coverage worldwide.
Articles, books, reports, and patents in science, engineering, social science, and arts and humanities, particularly published after 1995. Includes citation features and tools to analyze authors and journals.
Social Sciences Citation Index [Web of Science]
Indexes high-impact science, social science, engineering, art & humanities research journals, 1956-present.
SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
SSRN is an open-access online preprint community publishing research papers and conference proceedings in social science.
Social Science and Management Librarian
More ways to get help
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.