Related guides
Places to Start
- America: History and LifeKey resource covers US & Canadian history, prehistory-present. Indexes articles, book reviews, essay collections, dissertations, media. With abstracts.
- Anthropology Plus Indexes articles, reports, edited works, and other publications in Anthropology and related fields.
- Historical AbstractsResource covers world history (excluding US & Canada), 1450-present. Indexes articles, books, essay collections, dissertations, media. With abstracts.
- History of Science, Technology, and Medicine Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, reviews, dissertations.
Secondary Sources
- America: History and LifeKey resource covers US & Canadian history, prehistory-present. Indexes articles, book reviews, essay collections, dissertations, media. With abstracts.
- Anthropology Plus Indexes articles, reports, edited works, and other publications in Anthropology and related fields.
- AnthroSourceContains full text of the publications of the American Anthropological Association. Includes current issues of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications.
- Historical AbstractsResource covers world history (excluding US & Canada), 1450-present. Indexes articles, books, essay collections, dissertations, media. With abstracts.
- History of Science, Technology, and Medicine Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, reviews, dissertations.
- Humanities AbstractsProvides abstracts, indexing and some links to full-text of journals and magazines in a broad range of humanities fields. Indexing from Feb. 1, 1984; abstracts from Mar. 1, 1994.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index RetrospectiveIndexes journals in the humanities and social sciences covering the period 1907-1984.
- JSTORA full-text scholarly journal archive, back to vol. 1, issue 1, in many fields. Current years are excluded for most journals.
- Project MuseA collection of major journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage is roughly from 2000 to the present.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (Full Text)Indexing and abstracting of dissertations and theses 1861-present. Full text for most dissertations 1997-present and selective full-text for earlier dissertations. Comprehensive coverage of North American universities and selective coverage worldwide.
- Sociological AbstractsThe standard bibliographic tool for sociology and related disciplines. Provides abstracts and indexing of journal articles, citations to book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. 1952 - present.
- Web of Science [ISI Web of Knowledge]
Indexes high-impact science, social science, engineering, art & humanities research journals, 1899-present. Also includes books and book chapters (2005-present) and conference proceedings (1990-present). - WorldCatFind over 43 million records of any type of material (books, journals, etc.) held by libraries all over the US and the world. "Classic" interface allows for more advanced searching options than the "MIT's Worldcat" interface.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- African Americans in Science: an Encyclopedia of People and Progress
- Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease
- Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics
- Encyclopedia of Science and Religion
- Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
- Encyclopedia of Social Theory
- Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, Theology, & Culture
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Energy
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
- Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science
- Science and Its Times
- Science, Technology, and Society
- Scientific Exploration and Expeditions: From the Age of Discovery to the Twenty-First Century
Biography
- African Americans in Science: an Encyclopedia of People and Progress
- American Men and Women of Science
- American Women of Science Since 1900
- Biographical Memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences
- Biographical Memoirs of the Royal Society
- Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
- Dictionary of Medical Biography
Primary Sources
Subject Specialist |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.


Loading...
