For more databases and resources, try these guides:

• Biotechnology & Pharmaceutical Industry Info
• Companies
• Industries
• Market Research
• Patents
• Standards

See all Research Guides by Subject

Access MIT Library resources from off campus or direct a web page to reload through the Libraries proxy server.

Books and articles

• Search Our Collections, the MIT Libraries Catalog - to get access to electronic and print books and articles
• MIT's WorldCat - to see what is owned by other libraries

Article databases - management & engineering

• Business Source Complete - for management topics
• Compendex with Inspec - for engineering topics
• Web of Science- for engineering and management, including tracking citations

Article databases - other topics

• ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection - for aeronautics, astronautics and related fields
• PubMed - for medical & health care topics
• SAE Digital Library - for automotive topics (Society of Automotive Engineers)

Company research

• Capital IQ - profiles and financial data for U.S. and non-U.S. public and private companies 
• D&B Hoovers - Directory of 20+ million U.S. and international companies.

• BCC Research: covers a wide range of industries including biotech, pharma, industrials, advanced materials, and technology.
• FitchConnect :  global and country-specific overage of industries with data, analysis, risk ratings, and forecasts.
• IBISWorld Industry Reports: comprehensive coverage of industries in United States and China.
• Frost & Sullivan Market Research: country, regional, and global market research reports across a broad range of sectors.
• More sources

Theses

• Specifications for Thesis Preparation (don't worry if the date isn't current, these are the specifications to follow when writing your thesis) and Thesis FAQ
• Theses at MIT
• Dissertations and Theses (other universities) - citations of theses back to 1861. Full text of most theses from 1997 - present.

Patents

• MIT Libraries guide for patents

Supply Chains

• Panjiva import and export data for millions of products worldwide. Search by product, supplier/ buyer company names, and industries. Use it to research global suppliers and trading partners, track specific shipments, and see sourcing trends by HTS code. Fill out this form to request an account.

Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.

Quick Answers: social sciences and management provides answers to frequently asked questions. This tool replaced the Dewey Research Advisor.