• 2.671 wiki
• Mechanical Engineering subject guide
• Physics subject guide
• All library research guides

Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:

Overleaf is an online LaTeX and Rich Text collaborative writing and publishing tool.

Register for an MIT Overleaf Pro+ account​

See our Overleaf Guide for more info.

HINT: Start with COMPENDEX/INSPEC!

If you aren't finding the results you want from these databases, follow these steps:

1. Modify your keywords (and remember to track what you've already searched!)
2. Check the A-Z Databases list to see if there are databases more specific to your subject
3. Contact a librarian to assist with your search

BOOKS

• See what MIT owns: Search our Collections
• See what other libraries own: MIT's WorldCat

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND HANDBOOKS

• Knovel: Engineering and Scientific Handbooks
• Encyclopedia of Applied Physics
• Marks' standard handbook for mechanical engineers

NEWS

• Factiva: includes the Boston Globe, New York Times, Washington Post

POPULAR SCIENCE MAGAZINES

• Scientific American
• Physics Today
• Mechanical Engineering
• Popular Mechanics
• Science News

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.

To access library resources from off-campus, you can do the following things:

• Use the links in this guide to access to directly access library resources and log in using your username and password
• Search Our Collections to get direct access to electronic resources
• Utilize IS&T's VPN to simulate an MIT IP address

For more information on accessing library resources remotely, please visit https://libraries.mit.edu/research-support/connect/.

Still having trouble connecting? Ask Us!