Tips & Tricks
Learn about what resources to use for your research, how to keep up to date with research, and how to organize your references.
- Graduate student seminar Fall 2010: Library resources overview (59:55)
- Handout
Keeping up with research
RSS, Email & Table of Contents Alerts
Find new journal articles about your research topic!
There are a number of services via email and RSS for accessing tables of contents of new journal issues and research alerts (results of literature searches you
construct, run periodically).
This site will provide links to these services, as well as an explanation of what RSS is and how it works.
Mechanical Engineering Databases
Finding articles
Full text papers, reports and proceedings
- AIP Online Conference Proceedings [American Institute of Physics] - info
- ASME Digital Library [conference papers 2008 - present]
- David Taylor Model Basin reports
- IEEE Xplore - info
- MRS Online Proceedings [Materials Research Society] - info
- One Petro [includes papers on petroleum and from related societies like NACE, the Offshore Technology Conference (OTC) and the Society of Underwater Technology (SUT)]
- OSA [Optical Society of America] - info
- SAE Digital Library - info
- SPE eLibrary [Society of Petroleum Engineers] - info
- SPIE Digital Library [SPIE Proceedings and Journals] - info
Electronic Books and Dissertations/Theses
- Dissertations and Theses [1997 - present]
- Springer E-Books
- Books24x7.com - info
- CRCnetBase - info
Handbooks and Encyclopedias
- Knovel: Engineering and Scientific Handbooks - info
- Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers - info
- ASM Failure Analysis Center
- ASM Handbooks Online - info
- ASM Materials Information - info
- Comprehensive Composite Materials - info
- Corrosion Handbook
- Encyclopedia of Applied Physics
- Encyclopedia of Electrochemical Power Sources
- Machinery’s Handbook - info
- Mark Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology - info
- Polymer Handbook - info
Materials Properties Data
Try the Finding Chemical & Materials Properties guide, or these databases:
- Springer Materials: 250,000 Substances & Material Systems; 3,000 Properties
- Reaxys [includes Beilstein and Gmelin] - info
- ASM Alloy Center - info
- ASM Micrograph Center - info
Manage Your References
Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:
Subject Specialist |
![]() Contact Info Barker Engineering Library (10-500) Science Library (14S-100) Phone: 617-253-9320 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.



Loading...
