A guide to library research tools for medicine.
Check out this journal with articles in video format!
Journal of visualized experiments --JoVE
MIT Libraries subscribes to JoVE General, Chemistry, Clinical and translational medicine, Neuroscience, Immunology & Infection, Bioengineering and Basic Protocols
- Web of Science
Indexes high-impact science, social science, engineering, and art & humanities research journals.
Articles, books, reports, and patents in many subjects, mainly published after 1995. Includes citation features and tools to analyze authors and journals.
- F1000 Prime
Highlights and evaluates most interesting papers published in biosciences and medicine based on recommendations of top researchers.
Full-text articles in psychology and related fields.
Comprehensive citation database of psychology.
- Cochrane Library
Evidence medicine resource includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
- Cochrane Database of Systematics Reviews
Includes full text to all peer-reviewed Cochrane systematic reviews.
- Merck Index
Info on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
- Stat!Ref Electronic Medical Library
Database of full-text of core medical textbooks and other reference sources. Texts updated as new editions are published. Includes: AAFP Conditions A to Z, ACP Medicine, AHFS Drug Information, Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders IV, Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, Oxford Textbook of Medicine,Greenfield's Surgery: Scientific Principles and Practice, Review of Natural Products, Stedmen's Medical Dictionary
- Comprehensive Physiology
Includes complete content from the Handbook of Physiology from the American Physiological Society; updated quarterly.
- NCBI Bookshelf
Free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare
- CDC FastStats
The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance
- Dictionary of Medical Terms
- Biological Atlases
human, mouse etc and brain, body etc
- Encyclopedia of Drug Metabolism and Interactions
Find preclinical and clinical aspects of drug metabolism and interactions, including toxicological, regulatory and marketing information.
A weekly update by Donald A.B. Lindberg, M.D., Director of the National Library of Medicine, highlighting health news.