Protocols and Methods Collections
- Cold Spring Harbor ProtocolsCold Spring Harbor Laboratory, pioneers in Molecular Biology Research have a well-respected press that includes manuals and methods books. This collection is the foundation for the CSH Protocols series.
- Current Protocols SeriesThis is a journal series with 17 titles in collection that is indexed in a number of search engines. The libraries subscribe the the 13 titles listed below. Use advanced search, then filter for lab protocols to search the entire Current Protocols Series
Titles in Series:
Current Protocols in Bioinformatics, Current Protocols in Cell Biology, Current Protocols in Cytometry, Current Protocols in Human Genetics, Current Protocols in Immunology, Current Protocols in Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Current Protocols in Molecular Biology, Current Protocols in Neuroscience, Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry, Current Protocols in Pharmacology, Current Protocols in Protein Science, Current Protocols in Stem Cell Biology, and Current Protocols in Toxicology - Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)a video journal featuring methods for biological research. MIT's subscribes to content in the JoVE General section, and the Neuroscience; Immunology & Infection; and Bioengineering sections.
- Methods in EnzymologyEarly volumes in this journal are amongst the most highly cited papers ever published.
- Nature ProtocolsNature publishing has greatly expanded their scope and range of publications while maintaining their reputation. This collection contains content from the edited Nature Protocols Journal and a forum-based Protocols Exchange.
- Springer ProtocolsThis is our largest collection of methods and protocols that were published in book series going back to 1984.
Discovering Protocols
Search Barton for books with Methods and Protocols
Basic Search: (laboratory manuals) and (biol* or biochem*) Will retrieve over 300 books about experimental methods.
Databases that index selected protocols
Protocols on the Web
- Open WetWare is an effort to promote the sharing of information, know-how, and wisdom among researchers and groups who are working in biology & biological engineering.
- Protocol exchange The Protocol Exchange is an open resource where the community of scientists pool their experimental know-how to help accelerate research.
- Protocols Online a database of research protocols in a variety of life science fields. It contains protocols contributed by worldwide researchers as well as links to web protocols hosted by worldwide research labs, biotech companies, personal web sites.
Methods in Dissertations and Theses
- DSpace theses collection - MIT theses and dissertations
- Dissertations and Theses (Proquest) - theses and dissertations from North American universities, some worldwide
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) - International open access collection of electronic theses and dissertations
About Protocols and Methods
Protocols and methods are a body of literature that describe experimental procedures. Descriptions of experimental procedures are widespread in the scientific literature. The methods sections of research articles are typically brief, and may not provide enough information for a researcher to replicate the process, particularly if the researcher is not already familiar with the procedure.
- Research methods are often published separately.
- These appear in a variety of formats.
- There are journals and serials that focus on methods, such as Methods in Enzymology.
- These may be indexed in databases such as Pubmed, Web of Science, or SciFinder.
- Much of the literature in published in books, and these are not widely indexed.
A good protocol can save you countless hours in the lab with proven methodologies as a starting point for your research.
Howard Silver |
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.


Loading...
