Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful library & course pages
Library locations for this class
The primary collections for literature on engineering and science will be found in Barker (engineering) and Hayden Libraries (Science).
There are a wealth of resources to support your research on science and engineering topics. The list below covers some of the starting points we reviewed in the class session.
A list of guides that highlight key resources and starting points organized by discipline (eg Physics) or content type (eg GIS).
Vera is the primary gateway for the libraries' electronic subscriptons.
Searches the Barton Catalog, as well as most MIT-licensed e-resources, including e-books and full-text articles. Extensive, but does not index ALL materials available to the MIT community
Compendex and Inspec
You can search both these databases in Engineering Village to find articles, conference papers, and reports in all fields of engineering, computer science, and physics.
PubMed indexes more than 3500 journals in biomedical research, neurosciences and clinical medicine.
Web of Science
Indexes high-impact science, social science, engineering, art & humanities research journals.
Search for scientific & engineering information via an extensive collection of engineering & scientific e-books. Includes interactive tables & graphs.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Lexis Nexis Academic provides access to the full-text of many news, business, and legal resources, including the New York Times.
Find articles and books
- Try the SFX button (or any link that says full text) in the database, if one is present. Note: For this to work in PubMed or Google Scholar use the Vera PubMed url: http://libraries.mit.edu/get/pubmed or Google Scholar url: http://libraries.mit.edu/get/googlescholar/.
- If you can't link via SFX, search Vera for electronic access. Finally, search for the name of the journal in Barton.
- If we don't own the journal Interlibrary Borrowing is an option, with most articles delivered in 1-2 workdays.
- Use BartonPlus to search your topic, then limit to Barton Catalog.
- If MIT does not own what you need search MIT WorldCat, and request books from the Boston Library Consortium or Borrow Direct (allow 3-5 workdays). Interlibrary Borrowing is also an option, but can take 3 days to 2 weeks, so plan ahead!
Remember to evaluate your sources, and note the full information for your references: you'll need this for your bibliography. Use a citation manager (like RefWorks) to help you manage your readings and generate your bibliography.
Head of Data and Specialized Services