Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Search Account

Library services for MIT Alumni/ae: Library use

Service update

All library locations are now open to MIT faculty, students, and staff in Covid Pass. See our current service updates for more information.

All visitors need a MIT community member sponsor or escort to use library services. Visitors must be in compliance with the MIT campus access policy. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Library use

The MIT Libraries encourage MIT alumni/ae to make use of the libraries during their visits to campus. Library hours and locations are available online.

Reference help

Reference and information staff can:

  • assist alumni/ae in using the online catalog.
  • answer questions about locations of library materials.
  • make referrals to appropriate library collections and services at MIT and in the greater Boston area.
  • provide brief research assistance.
  • Full reference service is provided in the use of government document depository collections.

Some limitations apply:

  • Reference services are scheduled to meet the needs of the MIT community; times of available service vary from library to library.
  • Current MIT faculty, students and staff have priority access to physical, electronic, and staff resources.
  • Alumni/ae must abide by the Library use policy.

Online help is available at all times:

  • The Virtual Reference Collection is a collection of useful reference web sites compiled by MIT librarians.
  • Research guides, created by MIT librarians, recommend web sites and resources for research in specific subject areas or on specific topics.

Borrowing privileges

Alumni/ae who want to borrow materials from the MIT Libraries' collections may apply for a Borrowing Card at a special rate.

Please note: Borrowing privileges do not include offsite access to licensed electronic material (i.e. databases and ejournals), or on-site access to licensed resources that require MIT authentication.  Privileges also do not include Interlibrary Borrowing from non-MIT insitutions.

Document delivery

For a fee, MIT alumni/ae around the world can order journal articles, MIT technical reports/working papers and theses from the MIT Libraries' extensive and unique collections.

Computer and network access

Computer use

  • Priority for computer use is given to MIT users, except for government document depository access, which is made equally available to all.
  • See the Library use policy for more information..

Electronic resources

  • Visit Search Our Collections - the Libraries' search platform
  • Be aware that, due to licensing agreements, access to many electronic resources is restricted to current MIT students, faculty, and staff.

Wireless access

For information on wireless access, consult network connectivity for MIT guests.

Scanning

Scanning is available, but there is no longer public printing. For more information see the Scan & Print guide.

Start here for help

 

 

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.