Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias of World Music
Need a quick fact or more background reading on a topic? The links below will take you to sources that cover many different musical traditions and styles.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
More than 20,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings reflecting the music of every continent. IMPORTANT: you must connect to this resource via the Prisma Access/GlobalProtect VPN..
Oxford Music Online
Authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.
Music Around the World: a Global Encyclopedia
Provides multidisciplinary perspectives on the music of countries and ethnic groups from around the globe.
The SAGE international encyclopedia of music and culture
Presents key concepts in the study of music in its cultural context and provides an introduction to the discipline of ethnomusicology, its methods, concerns, and its contributions to knowledge and understanding of the world’s musical cultures, styles, and practices.
Online Reference Material
There are many specialized reference works; this list is selective, not complete.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Covers all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music.
Encyclopedia of African American Music
Features a broad scope, substantial entries, current coverage, and special attention to historical, political, and social contexts.
Latin Music: Musicians, Genres, and Themes
Spans 5 centuries and 25 countries, showcasing musicians from Celia Cruz to Plácido Domingo and describing dozens of rhythms and essential themes.
St. James encyclopedia of hip hop culture
Examines the history and contributions of hip hop to American and global culture, including the music, dance, and visual arts that are its artistic expressions.
Research guide: Anthropology & archaeology
Lists reference works and indexes for the literature of anthropology
If you're having trouble connecting to online text or streaming content:
More ways to get help
If I'm not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of my colleagues:
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.