LibGuides: ArchivesSpace Users Group: Home

What is ArchivesSpace?

ArchivesSpace is an open source, web-based archival information management system. Members of the ArchivesSpace Users Group use ArchivesSpace at MIT to conduct the following business functions:

create accession records that document receipt of new distinctive materials
manage the arrangement and description of archival collections (including collections with digital content)
maintain name and subject authorities
record and manage locations information
support conservation and public services operations

The MIT ArchivesSpace public user interface is the portal for browsing and searching the descriptions of archival collections at MIT. MIT ArchivesSpace is integrated with Aeon, the request and workflow management system used by the Department of Distinctive Collections, and with Archivematica, the digital processing and digital preservation system used by MIT Libraries.

Mission

The purpose of the ArchivesSpace Users Group is to provide a forum in which to share information about ArchivesSpace usage at MIT, develop common best practices whenever possible, and stay engaged with the wider ArchivesSpace community.

Contact Us

Questions or concerns about ArchivesSpace? Contact the MIT ArchivesSpace Users Group at archivesspace-users@mit.edu

Submit corrections to the ArchivesSpace public user interface to archivesspace-help@mit.edu

Membership

Any MIT employee using ArchivesSpace to describe distinctive materials (including interns and short-term project staff but excluding undergraduate student staff) is invited to join the ArchivesSpace Users Group.

Current membership

Joe Carrano, Digital Archivist, Department of Distinctive Collections
Chris Tanguay, Processing Archivist, Department of Distinctive Collections
Becca Tibbitts, Processing Associate, Department of Distinctive Collections
Rachel Van Unen, Archival Processing Manager, Department of Distinctive Collections
Thera Webb, Women@MIT Project Archivist, Department of Distinctive Collections

Technical advisors

Alex Brennen, Senior Systems Administrator, Digital Library Services
Eric Hanson, Metadata Operations Engineer, Digital Library Services
Carl Jones, Digital Library Systems Manager, Digital Library Services