Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Streaming video service with documentary and feature films from producers such as Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, New Day Films, Media Education, California Newsreel, PBS and others.
Filmakers Library Online
Streaming video collection of documentaries in many different subjects.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Streaming video service with documentary, instructional, and feature films from producers such as BBC, Documentary Educational Resources (DER), Icarus, PBS, and Sony Pictures Classics.
Manage Your References
Any of the these tools listed below can help you organize and cite your references. The Overview at the top of the list explains the strengths and weaknesses for each.
Start Your Research
Search our Collections
Start with the MIT libraries' mega search. This contains the libraries full collection of books, full text articles, government. documents, and more. PRO TIP: For a more comprehensive search, click "expand beyond MIT collections" button at upper left of results to see many more articles which can be ordered via inter-library borrowing.
MIT Libraries has direct subscriptions to The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal
Mainstream News Databases
Access to over 2500 US and international news sources include newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites. Coverage: 1980-current (depending on title)
Nexis Uni, formerly Lexis Nexis Academic, provides access to the full-text of many news, business, and legal resources, including the New York Times. Coverage: 1980-current (depending on title)
Current editions of hundreds U.S. and international newspapers in full-color, full-page format. For use online or as an app. Current three months only..
Alternative Press Index
Indexes 300 alternative, radical, and left publications covering political, economic, social and cultural issues. 1991 - present.
A full-text collection of newspapers, journals and magazines published by ethnic and minority presses. 1990 - present.
News Library Research Guide
For all MIT news sources, and links to historical newspapers
See issues and political news with news bias revealed. Non-partisan, crowd-sourced technology shows stories from from left, right, and center perspectives.
Traditional Reference Sources
Social Science and Management Librarian
More ways to get help
If I'm not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of my colleagues:
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.
Order books from other libraries
Articles you need not at MIT?