Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Search Account

MIT SORT - Student Organization Records Toolkit: Who can help SORT?

The MIT Student Organization Records Toolkit, or MITSORT, is designed to assist student organizations in developing their recordkeeping practices to preserve their group’s history.

Institute Resources

MIT Records Program - https://libguides.mit.edu/records-management  or  email

MIT Libraries - Department of Distinctive Collections - https://libraries.mit.edu/distinctive-collections/

MIT Museum - http://mitmuseum.mit.edu/

MIT Student Information Processing Board - https://sipb.mit.edu/

Contact these groups or offices when you'd like to talk about physical or digital material you'd like to preserve.  The MIT Records Program should be your first stop to seek advice, schedule a transfer of archives, or questions about the Archives and their responsibilities.

Undecided?

If your group is interested in the MITSORT methods described within this records management Libguide, but is unsure about donating its records to the Institute Archives, that is not a problem.

The Institute Archives is an option that is available to your group or organization for the long-term storage and preservation of your records, but it is by no means mandatory. Whether donating to the Institute Archives or managing your records independently, the Records Management Program and Institute Archives are available to provide resources and support to help student organizations manage their records.