LibGuides: Astronomy, Astrophysics, & Planetary Science: Reference Sources

Handbooks and Data

Conversion of Units
An online conversion calculator from the Institute of Chemistry at the Freie Universität Berlin.
PDS: Planetary System Data
An archive and source of scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements.
Physical Reference Data
A series of online databases hosted by NIST containing physical constants, spectroscopy data, X-ray and gamma-ray data and more
NASA's High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center
The primary archive for NASA missions dealing with extremely energetic phenomena, from black holes to the Big Bang.
Digital Lunar Orbiter Photographic Atlas of the Moon
The definitive reference manual to the global photographic coverage of the Moon, a reproduction of the 675 plates contained in NASA SP-206, written by Bowker and Hughes.
Landolt Bornstein Group VI Astronomy and Astrophysics
Preview volumes of print in Science Reference: QC61.L2582
Includes position and time determination, astronomical constants, abundances of the elements in the universe, the solar system, special types of stars, star clusters and associations and more.
Digital Sky Survey
Sloan and Palomar Sky Surveys

Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences - Comprehensive yearly volumes of critical reviews written by leading scientists in the earth and planetary sciences fields.

HyperPhysics - A free online resource covering many topics in astrophysics (and other branches of physics), maintained at Georgia State University.

Weisstein's World of Astronomy - A free online resource covering many topics in astronomy, maintained by Wolfram Research.

NASA Atlas of the Solar System - G1000.G7 1997

StarGuides Plus - QB1.S775 2004

The Nautical Almanac - QB8.N314

The Astronomical Almanac - QB8.U58.A2

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics (also online) - QB14.E54 2001

StarBriefs Plus - QB14.S743 2004

Encyclopedia of the Solar System - QB501.E53 2007

Encyclopedia of Planetary Sciences - QB600.2.E53 1997

Dictionary of Minor Planet Names - QB651.S352 2006 (also online through SpringerLink)

Graduate Programs in Physics, Astronomy, and Related Fields - QC30.A5125a

Contact:

barbaraw@mit.edu
Room 10-500
617.253.5666