Selector's Toolkit: One-time resources

GOBI is our major monograph vendor. Books are obtained from GOBI in three ways:

• GOBI automatically ships books according to our approval plan profiles set up for each library location.
• Selectors can order books through notification "slips" on GOBI's website.
• Selectors can also search GOBI and place firm orders.

For materials not available on GOBI, selectors can email eselect@mit.edu (ex: specialized materials like music scores or foreign language vendors). See How to Order Things link below for more information.

Members of the MIT community are welcome to suggest purchases for the collection.

More information, including a Fact Sheet for Selectors, can be found here.

• Selectors investigate resources to acquire prior to making a selection decision. This may include working with people in other roles to determine that the Libraries has the necessary procedures and/or infrastructure to provide access and a user experience particular to the dataset being investigated for selection. This may include consultation with the Selector’s Collection Strategist, technical services staff, and/or Dataverse Product Owner (DPO).  Selectors are responsible for understanding Library repositories for purchased data storage requirements and limitations when considering datasets to purchase. 
  • See the Data Collection Development Policy and the  Policy for Storing in Dataverse for full details.
• Selector submits an order request using the collections order form. 
• Technical Services Acquisitions Staff will also work with the Selector to fully understand all the details of the order, and in particular to understand how and where the dataset will be hosted and follow up as needed. 
• See Dataset Workflow for complete workflow details.

Evidence Based Acquisition Collections

For all of the collections listed below, the platforms contain a mix of books available through the EBA, Open Access, and books we have purchased as firm orders. To determine whether a book in Primo has been purchased or is available to be purchased through an EBA see this documentation that describes which Alma collection is used for discovery records, and which Alma collection is used for purchased titles from EBAs, as well as GOBI (single orders) titles.