LibGuides: Selector's Toolkit: Analysis

Print Collection Use Reports

To see reports with circulation and fund information use Cognos reporting from the Data Warehouse.

See the Libraries' documentation on Cognos or further information from IS&T.

Which print titles/call numbers/collections are patrons in Department X borrowing?
more...less...
Input patron status (student, faculty, etc) and patron type (department) to see what these patrons have borrowed.
Who is using the X print collection in Y library?
more...less...
Input a library name and library collection to see who is borrowing from that collection.
What was purchased on X fund (print only) and who is using it?
**Report temporarily unavailable due to error 6/12/2018 DAL **
This report also shows circulation by publisher and by acquisition method (firm order/approval).
more...less...
Input library fund, fiscal year.
Which print items have the highest circulation in collection X?
more...less...
Input library name, collection, call number, etc.
Which print items have low circulation from collection X?
more...less...
Input library, collection, call number and zero circs or any other low number of circs.
Circulation for item or system number
more...less...
Use this report to check the circulation (loans, in-house use, holds, last circ date) for specific item barcodes and system numbers. Circulation is limited to MIT use only (ILB, Borrow Direct and library administrative use is not included.)

Looking for older BrioQuery reports? See the Libraries Data Warehouse page.

Electronic Collection Use Reports

For all reports below you must log in with your data warehouse username and password. If you forget your password you can change it at this MIT IS&T site.

Journal article R5 Turnaway report (data includes 2019, 2020) access limited to MIT Libraries

Journal article R4 Turnaway report (data includes 2014 to 2018) access limited to MIT Libraries.

Ejournal articles used report (data includes Jan 2014 to Dec 2017) access limited to MIT Libraries

Database report (data includes Jan 2014 to Jun 2018) access limited to MIT Libraries.

Ebook use report (data includes Jan 2014 to Dec 2017) access limited to MIT Libraries.

Use stats are available from each vendor through the vendor's admin login. Staff Vera has admin URL and username/password to login at the vendor sites.

To use Staff Vera, open Filemaker (v.12 or higher), open as a remote database using the host name: LibFM-1.mit.edu You can log in as a guest without a password. F urther instructions for Filemaker

Guide to COUNTER Release 5

Please contact dlenares@mit.edu if you need assistance with use reports.

Other use stats

Older use data (archived)

An archive of historical & current usage data librarians have collected from vendors. Includes data for titles not in Swetswise. To access, go to the Remote(R:) Drive & open CSM folder.

more...
NO LONGER IN USE SFX Reports

Reports on the number of times a journal or database has been accessed through our SFX link resolver.

Borrowing from Other Libraries

ILB Article requests
Data July 2017 to June 2023
ILB Book requests FY18 and FY19
Borrow Direct Reports
Run reports on MIT's use of Borrow Direct.
ILB Requests FY17
ILB Report FY16
ILB Report FY15
ILB Report FY2014
File available at R:\IDLA\ILB stata\F14_ILB_Annual_Report\fy14_ilb_stats.xls
See tabs labeled "Most requested journals" and "Most requested loans"
ILB Report FY2013
File available at R:\IDLA\ILB stata\FY13_ILB_annual_report\fy13_ilb_stats.xls
See tabs labeled "Most requested journals" and "Most requested loans"
ILB Report CY2012
Spreadsheet of ILB requests placed by the MIT community in 2012.

Journal Citation Reports

Journal citation data, with impact factors, rankings, & half-lives of journals indexed by ISI Web of Science. Mostly science and social science journals. Frequent citation may be a proxy for usage.

Data discrepancies

Sometimes things go wrong. Sometimes vendors tell us about it. This file documents use data related errors or discrepancies that we have been notified about.

Vendor notes on data discrepancies

Selector's Toolkit: Analysis