Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need a quick fact or more background reading? Try one of the links below.
For additional resources, see the History Research Guide and the Science, Technology, & Society Research Guide.
Oxford Reference Online
Includes both encyclopedias and dictionaries as well as more specialized titles from History and other disciplines.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Specialized online encyclopedias. Browse the titles available in "History" and "Multicultural Studies" for ones relevant to your area of research.
Illustrations in over 550 reference works such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies
Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science
Covers the period from the Renaissance to the early twenty-first century, including all disciplines, concepts, and methodologies and philosophies. Part of Oxford Reference Online.
Oxford Companion to United States History
Over 1400 entries about America's political, diplomatic, military, social, cultural, and intellectual history; includes science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion. Part of Oxford Reference Online.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Science, Medicine, and Technology
Overviews on specific topics in the history of American science, medicine, and technology. Covers the course of history of American science, medicine, and technology from the early colonial era to present-day
Science, Technology, and Society
Over 130 articles about the functions and effects of science and technology in society and culture. Part of Oxford Reference Online.
Background Information: Biography