Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Top databases for academic & news articles
Academic journals and working papers can provide examples of how CEOs and managers are addressing sustainability challenges and implementing socially and environmentally responsible practices. The sources below are good starting points for searching for articles and news from the management literature. Some sources also cover trade journals and newspapers.
Source for scholarly articles in business and management. Some overlap with Business Source Complete.
Best Practices Database
This searchable database contains over 2000 proven solutions to the common social, economic and environmental problems of an urbanizing world. It demonstrates the practical ways in which public, private and civil society sectors are working together to improve governance, eradicate poverty, provide access to shelter, land and basic services, protect the environment and support economic development. 1996 - present.
Business Source Complete
A leading source for articles in thousands of business and management academic and trade journals. Some overlap with ABI/Inform, but with more full-text.
A nonprofit research organization which studies issues relevant to improving business practices and performance. To search for sustainability topics, select "Business Management Research" and search by title keyword. Or, browse by topics such as:
- Citizenship & Sustainability
- Diversity & Inclusion
- Governance & Corporate Values
EMIS (formerly ISI Emerging Markets)
Industry reports, news, and company information from emerging markets in Latin America, Asia, and North Africa. Begin by selecting your country from the ISI homepage. Then, from your country's portal, you can either use the search boxes provided or browse the options under the "News" tab (in the blue menu near the top of the screen).
Lexis Nexis Academic
Newspapers, trade journals, and some academic coverage.
SSRN Social Science Research Network
Faculty working papers (fulltext or abstracts) for research in economics, management, and other social sciences. 1993 - present.