Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Keeping up with research
Find new journal articles about your research topic!
There are a number of services via email and RSS for accessing tables of contents of new journal issues and research alerts (results of literature searches you construct, run periodically).
This site will provide links to these services, as well as an explanation of what RSS is and how it works.
Manage your references
Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:
Finding articles & research papers
Use these article databases to find citations to articles, conference papers or technical reports. For databases with no full-text, follow links to access items available through the MIT Libraries.
Article citations in all engineering fields, plus physics, electronics, robotics, and related fields.
Web of Science
Indexes high-impact science, social science, engineering, art & humanities research journals.
ASME Digital Collection
Conference papers from 2002 - present. Also includes ASME journals.
Full text of Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) technical papers published after 1906. Also includes full text of all current Aerospace Standards. Current and historical Aerospace Material Specifications and Ground Vehicle Standards are also available.
One Petro eLibrary
Includes Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNAME) journals and proceedings.
Books, handbooks, theses
Use these links to books, theses, and other related publications to get started. Search Search our collection for a full list of books owned by the MIT Libraries or use MIT's WorldCat to search library catalogs worldwide and place requests to borrow items.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers
A classic reference for mechanical engineering. Covers more than 100 essential mechanical engineering topics
Engineering & scientific e-books, including SNAME books on ship design. Also includes interactive tables & graphs.
Corrosion data and the chemical resistance of all technically important metallic, non-metallic, inorganic and organic materials in contact with aggressive media.
Dissertations & Theses
1997-present: full text for most dissertations.
1861-present: selective full-text for dissertations prior to 1997. Indexing and abstracting of dissertations and theses.
Jane's titles related to ocean and naval engineering
These links will take you to the record in our catalog for PRINT volumes owned by the MIT Libraries. We do not have access to Jane's products online.
Lloyd's Register of Ships
The link will take you to the record in our catalog for print volumes owned by the MIT Libraries.
More ways to get help
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.