Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business & Management Librarian
More ways to get help
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.
The CBOE (Chicago Board Options Exchange) Volatility Index is a key measure of market expectations of near-term volatility conveyed by S&P 500 stock index option prices.
CRB Commodity Yearbook
Provides data and commentary on more than 100 domestic and international commodities
Historical, global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, futures, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials, and economic data. The database is updated daily, and historical equity information goes back as far as 1973, though coverage varies across countries and types of content. If you need access to Datastream whiile the LIbraries are closed due to the pandemic, please contact email@example.com
Global Financial Data
Historical data on bonds, commodities, interest rates, stock markets and indices, futures, exchange rates, GDP, prices, and unemployment.
Provides current and historical macroeconomic and financial data for countries in Europe, North America, Latin America, the Middle East, Africa, and Asia Series span 15 sectors of each country’s economy where available. Global Insight includes OECD national accounts data as well as data from International Monetary Fund including commodity prices. To conduct a search, click on DataInsight-Web, a link under Data Acess. Also available through WRDS
International Monetary Fund (IMF) eLibrary
Click on IMF data on top to access various datasets such as, Balance of Payments Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and International Financial Statistics. Statistical database containing country financial data (exchange rates, foreign exchange, SDRs, money supply, capital supply, commodities, etc.) dating back to 1948.
Option Metrics (via WRDS)
OptionMetrics contains historical prices of options and their associated underlying instruments, calculated implied volatilities, and option sensitivities. Contains data on all US exchange- listed and NASDAQ equities and market indices, as well as all US listed index and equity options, starting from January, 1996.
United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics
Annual export and import data by commodity and by trading partner. For many countries the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and goes up to the most recent completed year. Commodities are classified according to the Standard International Trade Classification.
Key web sites
Commodity Futures Trading Commission
Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) is an independent agency with the mandate to regulate commodity futures and option markets in the United States. The Web site has links to all domestic exchanges, market analysis, market surveillance, and market research.
FAOSTAT Agriculture Data
Made available by the Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, FAOSTAT provides statistical compilation on agricultural production and trade on both a world wide and country by country basis for all types of crops, livestock, and agricultural commodities.
Stock and Commodity Exchanges
An excellent guide to stock and commodity exchanges worldwide, including those dealing in futures, options, and derivatives, as well as sources for market and stock prices and reports.
USDA Foreign Agricultural Service's Production, Supply and Distribution (PSD) online
This database contains current and historical official USDA data on production, supply and distribution of agricultural commodities for the United States and key producing and consuming countries.
USDA National Agricultural Statistics & Services
Production, yields and prices for agricultural commodities at national and state levels.
US Geological Survey
Commodity statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals.
World Bank Commodity Markets
Commodity prices and quarterly forecasts.