Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Scholarly Articles
The web offers millions of pages made by anyone, but these pages only skim the surface of what is available. The MIT Libraries subscribe to hundreds of databases that offer scholarly and professional information.
The links below are some that may be specifically useful for your projects. Some provide you with the complete text of the article, while others will give you just a short description and a link to our full-text finder, a tool that will search for the complete article in a different source.
Don't limit yourself to the databases listed below! Many others in different disciplines (e.g., art, film, or music) might also be useful for your research. Use Vera (Virtual Electronic Resource Access) or Research Guides to find additional resources.
Indexes, Abstracts, Bibliographies
Bibliography of Asian Studies
A comprehensive western-language resource on Asia, containing nearly 900k records on all subjects published from 1971 to the present. It is a bibliography; so please use Vera first to find the article.
* Covers world history (excluding US & Canada), 1450-present
* Indexes articles, books, essay collections, dissertations, media
* Citations and abstracts only but with links to some full-text
* Covers articles published 1955 - present
Full-Text Online Journal Collections
A full-text scholarly journal archive, back to vol. 1, issue 1, in many fields.
* Interdisciplinary scope covers a range of subjects, including history.
* Most articles are full-text, although access to some may be through links to another source.
Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary database which indexes and abstracts peer-reviewed journals, magazines and more.
Indexes: General & Interdisciplinary
Proquest Dissertations and Theses
Indexing and abstracting of dissertations and theses 1861-present. Full text for most dissertations 1997-present and selective full-text for earlier dissertations. Comprehensive coverage of North American universities and selective coverage worldwide.
* An index to more than 400 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature
* Indexing from 1984-present; abstracts from 1994