Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Background Information: Online
Need a quick fact or more background reading? Try one of the links below.
For additional resources, see the History Research Guide and the Science, Technology, & Society Research Guide.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Specialized online encyclopedias in a variety of fields. Includes the Encyclopedia of Modern China and the Encyclopedia of Modern Asia.
Oxford Reference Online
Includes both encyclopedias and dictionaries as well as more specialized titles from History and other disciplines.
Illustrations in over 550 reference works such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies
Encyclopedia of Modern China
Information on Chinese people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature from the beginning of the 19th century to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Covers subjects such as countries, cities, regions, natural features, religions, social issues, languages, people, events, customs, politics, and economics.
Background Information: Print Books
Online information is convenient, but sometimes just what you need is in a print book in the library! The following are selected reference books that might be useful for your work. You can use Barton to identify additional reference works.