Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Health care policy & reform
Commonwealth Fund: Health Care
Latest news and independent research supported by Commonwealth Fund, a private foundation on topics related to health care delivery, coverage and access.
Kaiser Foundation: Health Reform
Data, news, analysis and survey results on a wide range of topics related to health care reform.
National Conference of State Legislatures
A bipartisan organization that provides research support to legislators on critical state issues including health. The NCSL website provides access to reports, articles, and legislative summaries on health related topics such as cost and quality, diseases and conditions, health insurance, as well as new and emerging health issues.
National Health Policy Forum
An independent, non-partisan organization based at the Georgetown University. It aims to educate congressional and federal agencies’ staff on significant health issues. The Forum’s site provides access to numerous publications including background papers.
National Institute for Health Care Management (NIHCM)
A nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that supports research on cost & quality, coverage, health care delivery and reform.
RAND: Comprehensive Assessment of Reform Efforts (COMPARE)
COMPARE is a microsimulation model that predicts the effects of health policy changes at national and state levels. The model takes a synthetic data set with information on a nationally representative sample of individuals and their employers and predicts how they will react under different policy scenarios.
Social Determinants of Health
Conditions in the places where people live, learn, work, and play affect a wide range of health risks and outcomes.1 These conditions are known as social determinants of health (SDOH). This website provides CDC resources for SDOH data, tools for action, programs, and policy.
Health care financing
Congressional Budget Office
CBO prepares projections of federal health care spending under current law and analyzes proposals that would change federal health care policies.
Health Care Cost Institute
HCCI is a non-profit organization that aims to provide researchers "access to health care cost and utilization data that covers all ages and health issues, is national in nature, and includes previously inaccessible data on the private health insurance market."
Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC)
A nonpartisan legislative branch agency that provides the U.S. Congress with analysis and policy advice on the Medicare program. In addition to advising the Congress on payments to private health plans participating in Medicare and providers in Medicare's traditional fee-for-service program, MedPAC is also tasked with analyzing access to care, quality of care, and other issues affecting Medicare.
Foreign Health Systems
Canadian Institute for Health Information
This nonprofit organization provides data and analysis on Canada’s health system and the health of Canadians. Available data is at the national and provincial level on health professions, health expenditures, and health services.
Commonwealth Fund: International Health Policy Center
The Commonwealth Fund’s International Program conducts surveys in partnership with other entities to study industrialized countries’ health care systems; how they organize, finance, and deliver health services. These surveys also highlight quality, efficiency, and cost-controlling policy initiatives and reforms. Full-text profiles of various countries are available for download.
European Observatory on Health Systems and Policies
Profiles health systems and policy initiatives for countries covered by the World Health Organizations' regional office for Europe.
PLISA: Health Information Platform for the Americas
Health care profiles, reports and news on current health issues affecting member states of Pan American Health Organization.