Skip to main content

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Search Account

21M.603 Intro to Design for Theater: Home

Subject Headings

Search Library of Congress Authorities to identify subject terms for more effective searching in library catalogs and databases.

You can also do a keyword search in the Barton Library Catalog to find a book on your topic and then click on the subject headings that index that book to find similar titles.  

Costume and Fashion History Blogs

Fashion and Costumes

Image by Foxy_ from Pixabay 

Fashion websites

Museum at FIT Pintrest page

Seek inspiration through the pinned collection on the Pintrest board by the Museum at FIT.

Brooklyn Museum: Libraries and Archives: Fashion and Costume Sketch Collection, 1912-1950.

Get inspiration from a Digital Library Collection from book scans and other documents held in the the Brooklyn Museum Library.  

FIT Museum Collection

Browser collection in the FIT Museum ranging from 18th century to present day. 

FIT Archive on Demand

Watch videos of campus lectures, events, and instruction through this platform.

Cornell fashion & textiles collection

This research and teaching collection includes almost 9,000 items of apparel, accessories and flat textiles from the eighteenth century to present, including substantial collections of functional clothing, technical textiles, and ethnographic costume.

Art Institute of Chicago Textiles Collection

With over 13,500 objects this collection spanning 300 BC to present day items in this collection include printed furnishings, dress fabrics, tapestries, textiles, and more.

Digital Collections of the Los Angeles Public Library

Browse a number of digital collections in LAPL including the Fashion Plates, Turnabout Theatre, Photo and Movie Posters collections for inspiration. 

The Kyoto Costume Institute

 This collection ranges from 17th century to present day. The digital archive provides research materials for all 13,000 items (costume, underwear, accessories, etc.) in the collection and around 300 objects in chronological order.

We Wear Culture - Google

This Google Arts and Culture project features more than 400 stories created by curators from institutions all over the globe. 

NY Public Library Digital Collections

For inspiration, explore 898,885 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. Collections include prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more. Fashion collections include the Andre Fashion Illustrations from NYPL's Picture Collection, Costume of the Ladies of England, Music Division Set and Costume Design Collection, and the Creator's Studio Fashion Illustrations.  

MET Museum Costume Institute

Explore more than 30,000 art works in the Costume Institute Collection. 

Smithsonian Museum of American History

With over 30,000 artifacts, this collection goes beyond garments and includes jewelry, handbags, hair dryers, dress forms, hatboxes, suitcases, salesmen's samples, and thousands of fashion prints, photographs, and original illustrations. with in the time span between 1700s to the present day.

Bata Shoe Museum, Toronto, Canada

View sample highlights from footwear exhibits on display ranging from Chinese bound foot shoes and ancient Egyptian sandals to chestnut crushing clogs and glamorous platforms. 

Fashion Museum Bath

This museum holds collections of over 100,000 objects of contemporary and historic dress dating back to the 16th century. Explore the object image galleries of exhibits. 

Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) Costume and Textiles Collection

LACMA's collection contains work from pre-Columbian textiles to contemporary couture and includes over 35,000 objects representing more than 100 cultures and over 2,000 years of dress and human creativity in the textile arts. 

McCord Museum, Montreal, Canada

With over 20,000 garments (980 online) and accessories belonging to Canadian people from the past three centuries. This collection includes garments from Montreal designers, manufacturers, and retailers; quilts, coverlets, and other hand-made domestic textiles.

Paris Galliera Museum, Paris, France

Navigate this museum' online collection of nearly 200,000 works (clothing, accessories, photographs, drawings...), of clothing in France from the 18th century to the present day.

Victoria & Albert Museum, London, England

Browse this digital collection that includes items from the 17th century to present day, with an emphasis on progressive and influential designs from the major fashion centers of Europe.  

Architecture and Planning Librarian

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a great place to search full-text papers, articles, and dissertations. Try the Search Tips and read about Scholar's coverage.

To take advantage of Google search, visit Inside Search Help.

Google Scholar Search

ARTstor