It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This research and teaching collection includes almost 9,000 items of apparel, accessories and flat textiles from the eighteenth century to present, including substantial collections of functional clothing, technical textiles, and ethnographic costume.
This collection ranges from 17th century to present day. The digital archive provides research materials for all 13,000 items (costume, underwear, accessories, etc.) in the collection and around 300 objects in chronological order.
For inspiration, explore 898,885 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. Collections include prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more. Fashion collections include the Andre Fashion Illustrations from NYPL's Picture Collection, Costume of the Ladies of England, Music Division Set and Costume Design Collection, and the Creator's Studio Fashion Illustrations.
With over 30,000 artifacts, this collection goes beyond garments and includes jewelry, handbags, hair dryers, dress forms, hatboxes, suitcases, salesmen's samples, and thousands of fashion prints, photographs, and original illustrations. with in the time span between 1700s to the present day.
LACMA's collection contains work from pre-Columbian textiles to contemporary couture and includes over 35,000 objects representing more than 100 cultures and over 2,000 years of dress and human creativity in the textile arts.
With over 20,000 garments (980 online) and accessories belonging to Canadian people from the past three centuries. This collection includes garments from Montreal designers, manufacturers, and retailers; quilts, coverlets, and other hand-made domestic textiles.
A subscription based digital library of over one million historical and contemporary images related to art, architecture, world events, the humanities and social sciences. Open to anyone on campus. For off campus access to MIT faculty and students, an account is required. See ARTstor Terms and Conditions of Use.